Family ID: 237227

Children: 2 Children, 11 - 14 years old

City: Brussels / Big City | More ⇩

Name Nicholas


Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Sep 2021 - Oct 2021

Time of stay: 4-6 months

Last action: 52 minutes ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
Profile added to the favorite list of 24 candidates in the last 3 weeks
Profile Visited by 256 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hello, thanks for thinking of being an aupair with us

We're a nice family, and we could put you in touch with previous aupairs for you to find out for yourself. The main work we would want help with is being there for our 12-yr-old girl and 14-year-old boy when they arrive on the school bus usually at 16:10 (13:40 on Wednesdays) and looking after them till I'm home about 18:30 - i.e. giving them a snack, encouraging them to do their homework and helping with it if needed. Then cooking a meal for them around 6pm, when I get back and slowly take over. Plus little tasks like preparing their snack and clothes for the following school-day, some food shopping though I do the main shop at the weekend by car.

Also sometimes babysitting them while both parents go out to do something, doing activities with them (parks, swimming, friends' parties, museums), that kind of thing, especially on Wednesday afternoons. And some work on one of the days of the weekend, generally Saturday, so that I can go off and do things like shopping (or watching football) for a few hours.
Brussels is a French-speaking city, so you could learn French or English really, we'd of course pay for a language course for you.

Best wishes!
More ⇩

Job Description

What do we expect? Looking after the kids and being a good example, so it would be great to find an au pair who is interested in the world, likes reading and has some interests like art or history or making a better world or walking in nature ... not just chatting on smartphone and watching films. You could do a language course in mornings of weekdays. And maybe another possibility - since the kids will be 14 and 12, they'll be needing less classic 'aupairing' and more something like mentoring, so it's just possible (but I haven't thought it through fully) that it could be combined with you doing a university course here instead of language lessons, if that's where you are in life.
And something else that it's unreasonable to require, but that would be really nice for all involved I think - it would be nice if you are someone who enjoys reading serious books and thinking and talking about them, could be fiction or non-fiction, interested in what makes people tick and the world and justice and how things might be improved. So someone who is responsible, friendly, cultured (i.e. someone who prefers children playing with toys, reading, or going to park or museum or concert or fair rather than watching TV, leaving in front of computer and eating sweets).It would also be good if your English is good enough to be able to help with their homework. You could do language lessons (probably French) at least six hours a week, which we would pay for (as well of course as the other normal things to pay for aupairs: board and lodging, medical insurance ...) . We'd follow all the standard Belgian conditions for au pairs: 20 hours work a week, one full day off a week (probably usually Sunday), one full weekend off per month, one full week off every six months (i.e. once). That's a minimum - in practice, for example when the kids have gone to Nigeria for two weeks or more, that means two weeks holiday for the au pair.
Finally and more boringly, it's very important for us that our aupair is punctual, to make sure s/he will always be on time when the kids get home every weekday.
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Big City

Parent's Age Group 55+

Are you a single parent? Yes, I am a single father

Nationality British

Languages spoken at home English

Religion No Religion

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Civil servant

People living in the house 5

Children's/people's age and gender Annabella, 12, girl (and Michael, 14, boy, but he needs less taking care of beyond eating)

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Earliest Starting Date Sep 2021

Latest Starting Date Oct 2021

Duration of Stay 4-6 months

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 11 - 14 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience 0 Hours

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Gender Female

Preferred Nationalities No Preferences

Required Language Skills Good

Required Education Level High school

Working Hours (per week) 15 - 20

Pocket Money (per month) 450 EUR

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? yes

Required Age 16-25

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The Applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.


A comfortable room on the second floor (i.e. two floors above the ground floor), next to a bathroom. We live in town with convenient public transport for getting around.
Au Pair in Belgium: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Become an Au Pair in Belgium - requirements and process

Read More »
Au Pair in Belgium: contract and insurance

Read More »