Member ID 1220698

Nationality Canadian | More ⇩

Full name Hannah

City/State Alexandria/ Ontario

Country Canada

Start Jan 2020 - Jan 2021

Duration of stay 10-12 months

Good knowledge of English

Last action 4 Hours Ago

Would you like to contact this Au Pair?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, Log In to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.
2
Profile added to the favorite list of 2 candidates in the last 3 weeks
19
Profile visited by 19 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
38%
Answer Rate

Letter to the family

Hello, prospective employers!
As I write this, I'm sitting in the sub-basement of my University's library, contemplating what I want to do with my life. I had a moment of panic about why the heck I'm in school - currently in my second year, employed as an RA for these Fall and Winter terms - and amidst trying to write a paper that's due in three days, I find myself wondering if this (post-secondary schooling) is really what I want to be doing right now. I've always done well in school, (I was the top student of my graduating year in high school), but I have still also never really felt that I enjoy it enough, and thus, here I find myself looking into other opportunities - namely, this Au Pair website. I figured I love children, I love trying new things, and I love adventure - this could be a cool combination of all three.
For expectations, I feel like I am pretty flexible and competent for whatever is expected of me. I would prefer to not work, per say, seven days a week, but I am also really open to discussing any suggestion or expectation you have, and am willing to make sure it works well for you!
For what you can expect of me, I am a very resposible individual, and set a pretty high standard for myself in terms of accomplishments and reliability. I love working with children, and I feel like I learn from them as much as I hope they learn from me. As a Christian, following Jesus has held me to a high moral standard, and my character has thus developed with high levels of compassion, patience, and genuine love for people, in seeing their intrinsic value. I work hard, learn quickly, and would be very excited to work with you and your child(ren)!
Thanks for taking the time to read this, and I hope I have peaked your interest ;)
More ⇩

Experience

This past summer, I was a nanny for a family with four kids, aged 3-13 (who had just lost their mother in March). My role was to be the adult in the house while their dad was at work. He happened to have a hecka-long commute time, so I worked basically 6am-6pm every day, with weekends off. While the kids were still in school (May and June), I would get them ready for school, drive the youngest one to day-care, and then tottle off to my other full-time job all before 9:30am. When they were out of school (July and August), I was there all day - preparing three meals, doing laundry, driving them to camps and keeping the summer exciting with little day trips, and lots of swimming time. This all goes to say that I'm pretty flexible, and capable and enjoy spending time with kids. From this summer, I have experience with a range of ages (the kids were 3, 8, 10 and 13), as well as all sorts of personalities.
The idea of being an Au Pair interests me because I found this past job so enjoyable, and rather than driving me away from the idea of ever having children (as people I've talked with thought it might have done), it really just made me excited to have kids! In the meantime - as any plans for having my own children are not in the near future - I would still love to work with kids. I love being part of their development and growth. I love seeing what makes each child unique - what interests them, what makes them laugh, what hurts their little hearts, and what it takes to fix it again.
One of my biggest interests is teaching - whether it's math concepts, grammar and sentence structure, or life lessons - I love seeing children understand and learn and be creative with the newest things they discover about the world around them. All-in-all, I think being an Au Pair would open me up to new learning opportunities, and I find that rather exciting.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Personal information

Non-SmokerCan swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes
Has a driver's license - Yes, with experience

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license Yes, with experience

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Student

Education Secondary School

Basic knowledge of French, Spanish

Sports  Soccer, Basketball, Volleyball, Ball-Hockey (won numerous awards for sports, in High School and University)

Religion Christian

For the Au Pair religion is Important

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems No

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town

Duration of stay 10-12 months

Earliest starting date Jan 2020

Latest starting date Jan 2021

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 501 - 800

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 2

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with the mother

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

Can teach subjects

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.