Member ID 2602100

Nationality American | More ⇩

Full name Shelby

City/State Anderson/ Indiana

Country USA

Start Sep 2023 - Mar 2024

Duration of stay 3-24 Months

Good knowledge of English (Native)

Last action 22 days ago

Would you like to contact Shelby?

Join us if you don't have an account on
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Applicants.
Profile added to the favorite list of 2 candidates in the last 3 weeks
Profile visited by 5 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
Answer Rate - Not Applicable

Letter to the family

Hello! I’m Shelby and I previously attended Purdue University for Speech Language and Hearing Sciences, until recently when I realized I wasn’t sure of the path that I was on! I have babysat for years, and I worked at a camp this past summer, so I know I definitely want to work with kids! I have always wanted to travel, experience new places and cultures, and expand my world view as well. When I learned about the opportunities that being an au pair presents, I knew that’s what I wanted to do! I qualify for the position because as a counselor, I would play games with the kids, help serve lunch, participate and lead the activities/crafts, go swimming, play Just Dance, and watch movies with the kids. I also dropped off and picked up the kids from their various tennis, golf, and swim lessons during camp. At the camp we averaged at 50 kids during the middle of summer, all between the ages of 4-12. One of the campers was a 4 year old blind child, who I worked one-on-one with a majority of the summer. I helped the kids work on understanding their “big feelings” and I became an emotional support person for many of the kids. I also helped a few children with severe ADHD on different ways to help them succeed in that type of social setting. One wayI would help was by giving those kids “games” they could play with their hands to keep themselves busy while in situations where they needed to be listening. Every Friday, the camp would take a field trip and this created opportunities for me to experience traveling and being in crowded public spaces with large groups of children. I feel confident in my abilities to address conflict, either between the children or with the parents about a child, in the best possible way. I learned and experienced so much from working here.
More ⇩


I have no previous experience as an au pair, but I would like to change that! I would love to become an au pair abroad because it combines two of my great passions in life; working with children and helping them grow, and experiencing new, exciting things in life! I want to travel and with my childcare experience, this is the perfect time in my life to take advantage of that and gain new life experiences as an au pair!
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Personal information

Are you fully vaccinated against Covid-19? - Yes
Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license Yes, with experience

Has siblings

Has a valid passport


Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Child Care Worker

Education College

Language Knowledge

English: Native Language
Spanish: Beginner (A1), Since 3 Year/s

Sports  Softball, volleyball, and basketball

Information about COVID-19

Were you infected with Covid-19?  No

Are you fully vaccinated against Covid-19?  Yes

Name of Vaccine  Pfizer/BionTech

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - No

Preferred countries France, Iceland, Italy, Spain & Sweden

Preferred area Big City, Suburb

Duration of stay 3-24 Months

Earliest starting date Sep 2023

Latest starting date Mar 2024

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 10 - 50

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 3

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

I am friendly, outgoing, funny, and compassionate. I love going to concerts, museums, shopping with friends, road trips, and spending time with my family and friends. After being an au pair, I hope to have a clearer idea of what my next steps in life will look like, career wise. I will finish my degree in either Education or Speech Language and Hearing Sciences. Once I finish my schooling, I would like to begin working in a school, whether I am a teacher or Speech Language Pathologist.
We use cookies to offer you the best possible website experience. This includes cookies which are necessary for the operation of the website, cookies which are used solely for anonymous statistical purposes or to get better website settings. You are free to decide which categories you would like to allow. For further information see our Privacy policy Accept all Confirm selection