Member ID 1714511

Nationality American | More ⇩

Full name Sarah

City/State Angwin/ California

Country USA

Start Jun 2021 - Sep 2021

Duration of stay 10-12 months

Good knowledge of French (B1), English (Native)

Last action 23 hours ago

Would you like to contact this Au Pair?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.
1
Profile added to the favorite list of 1 candidates in the last 3 weeks
14
Profile visited by 14 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
100%
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Letter to the family

Dear Family,
My name is Sarah and I have two older siblings. I live with my mom and grouchy old cat, Smokey. I like to express myself through singing and sometimes I enjoy playing the harp. I like spending time outside, being social with friends, and relaxing while watching my favorite show, reading a novel, or journaling. I love going to the beach and taking just about any chance to go on an adventure. I can be funny and have a good sense of humor. I don't have a favorite color because every time I see a beautiful color, it becomes my new favorite color--even though my wardrobe tends to consist of different shades of blue.

I am loyal and honest. I understand and commit to confidentiality, and I have an adaptive personality. Some more of my attributes are that I am hard-working, accommodating, flexible, tolerant, and compassionate; yet I also have a very strong sense of my morals and right vs. wrong. I have a bubbly personality and more often I see the more positive side of a bad situation. I like to see the good in people and I am able to empathize with others. Sometimes I tend to overthink, but I like to see that as a positive thing, especially when presented with a sketchy situation.

I grew up in a baking household, so I have been blessed with a good amount of basic baking knowledge. Last summer I worked as a baker at summer camp and I learned how much I really do love to bake. That is when I realized that baking is the career that I want to pursue. I've looked at many culinary and baking/pastry schools with the help of my mother and there is a school in Montreal, Canada that I want to attend for their baking and pastry program. It would be my pleasure to bake for you (my host family) and continue improving my skill. :)

I have attended university for the last year and a half, and since Covid-19 started, online classes proved to be more difficult than I could handle. So, I decided to take some time from school to focus on myself and what direction I was heading. While in school I double majored in Business and French and I had been planning on doing a year abroad at the Adventiste du Salève in France as part of my education for my French major. So, my next thought for immersion was to become an Au Pair for a French speaking family. And if it turns out that your children are still young enough to learn a different language, it might be helpful that English is my native language. I might be able to help them with studying it. :)
More ⇩

Experience

I want to be an Au Pair or nanny abroad because I want to challenge myself to do something I have never done before, as I know it is a lot of work to take care of children. Especially when they will very well speak a language I am not fluent in. And I think that learning a language would improve my interpersonal skills and gain more leadership skills.

I want to immerse myself in a different culture so as to understand and gain a wider perspective of the world. I want to make a difference in a family's life for the better and make new connections. I think its so cool to watch kids grow up into their own person and I want to be a part of that. It is fun to make connections in conversation and be able to say that I know that person and was their nanny for a short while. With new connections we are able to reconnect and gradually make the world a little smaller with chosen family.

I also think I have a lot to bring to the table for being an Au Pair. Like I mentioned before I have good qualities that make me a good and decent person. I was a Resident Assistant during the recent fall quarter at school. In the training for that I learned what is best to do for different hypothetical situations such as if someone came to me with sensitive information about themselves or someone else. Part of the job description was checking residents into their rooms routinely and being in charge of weekly meetings together on video chat. So, I would be able to help the kids hold a routine when it comes to homework, snacks, free time, and hobbies.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Personal information

Non-SmokerCan swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Administration

Education University

Language Knowledge

English: Native Language
French: Intermediate (B1), Since 3 Year/s

Sports  Swimming, Volleyball,

Religion Christian

For the Au Pair religion is Important

Special diet considerations Vegetarian

Has health problems N/A

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town, Village, Countryside

Duration of stay 10-12 months

Earliest starting date Jun 2021

Latest starting date Sep 2021

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 0 hours

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 2

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with the mother

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.