Member ID 3151397

Nationality American | More ⇩

Full name Shania

City/State Binghamton/ New York

Country USA

Start May 2024 - Jul 2024

Duration of stay 10-12 Months

Good knowledge of Spanish (B1), Italian (B1), English (Native)

Last action 1 days ago

Would you like to contact Shania?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Applicants.
1
Added as favorite 1 time in the last 3 weeks
27
Profile visited by 27 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
89%
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Letter to the family

Hello,
My name is Shania, and I am a young woman from the United States Of America. I am currently enrolled into my third year of university, where I am studying to be a nurse. I've not only excelled academically, but I am active in my community through community service, such as volunteer work of cleaning parks, giving out food to the homeless and helping those in need academically. Along with being in many multicultural organizations/clubs, that push me to always try new ideas. I grew up in New York City, where I was raised from an Afro-Latin background, but my roots/ ethncities originate from Europe and the Caribbean. Being the youngest sibling and also the only girl surrounded around many boys, whether brothers or cousins; I've had many different experiences that've helped me to interact with anyone, including being able to understand how to approach difficult situations. I would love to be an Au Pair & Nanny, because I grew up around people younger and older than me, and I would help those younger than me from the minute I learned to talk, even when I was allowed to work my first job; it was a summer counselor job where I helped 5-7 year old boys with social interactions and coping methods. Children are very dear to me, as being an Aunt/ Titi/ Zia, I've had my nieces and nephews to attend to since I was eight years old and it has helped me tremendously on how to understand young minds. Being a nanny would help me to continue to engage and help children with any topic they might be afraid to open up about, or help them to learn a new skill. The opportunity to be hosted would not only be appreciated, but needed as I am very attentive to myself and my environment. Being able to always have access to the child to help them with there needs, especially with teaching language is important because I'll always be on deck. Whether it's explaining a new word or helping them process there emotions, while actively letting them think for themselves. I am very clean, I don't like messes, nor do I enjoy being around them; and the opportunity to be abroad would help me to grow more as worldly person. If hosted, not only would you never have to worry about me, but you will have access whenever needed for your child's best interest. I believe that I qualify for this position given my 14+ years of helping many different children, including disabled and special needs children. Also, with the heart that I do have, being able to see young minds be inspired and learn is what it's about, helping the youth as they'll be the ones running the show one day.
More ⇩

Experience

I've watched, babysat, taught, assisted many children in different ways whether through school, personal, or sports. Having more than 12+ years of experience with children, has taught me how to go about situations with children, differently; as each child is unique in their learning. I would love to go abroad, as being in the states there's not much opportunities to help children with language, as most children speak English or hire a tutor. Teaching a child, in a foreign country would be a dream come true, as it provides the ability to travel and help a young mind. The child being the #1 priority, but also the opportunity to explore, and indulge in unfamiliar cultures would help me and it would also help future children because I'll be able to expand my horizon and knowledge.
More ⇩

Personal information

Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes
Has a driver's license - Yes, with experience

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license Yes, with experience

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Nurse

Education College

Language Knowledge

English: Native Language, Since 19 Year/s
Spanish: Intermediate (B1), Since 19 Year/s
Italian: Intermediate (B1), Since 5 Year/s

Sports  Volleyball, club and professionally. I've also played basketball, softball, soccer, football and I've taken swimming lessons when I was younger.

Religion Catholic

For the Au Pair religion is Important

Special diet considerations Vegetarian

Has health problems Allergic to eggplant and penicillin.

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred countries Barbados, Ireland, Italy, Spain & United Kingdom

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town

Duration of stay 10-12 Months

Earliest starting date May 2024

Latest starting date Jul 2024

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 100 - 200

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 4

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Applicants.