Au Pair ID 1436105

Nationality South-African | More ⇩

Full name Shayla

City/State Charlotte/ North Carolina

Country USA

Start Nov 2019 - Jul 2020

Duration of stay 7-9 months

Good knowledge of English (Native), Afrikaans (B1)

Last action 2 Days Ago

Would you like to contact this Au Pair?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, Log In to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
3
Profile visited by 3 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
100%
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Letter to the family

I am so excited to meet you and start our new adventure together! Learning a little bit about America these past couple of months has really opened my eyes to your culture. I am curious to know what you, as a family, like and don't like and what your interest and hobbies are. What you can expect from me is that I will always put the children first, no matter what. I recognized and have the highest consideration that they are your children, so my first all of duty is to do what you feel is best. I am on-time and available, I am flexible and adapt easily to changing circumstances. Being new to the States, I would love to take your children out and explore the city with them! I am active and engaged and enjoy outdoor activities. I also am sensitive to give you quality time with your children as much as you need. What I would hope from you is that you would like to learn about my culture and can share yours. I hope you can embrace me as a newcomer to your family, I hope that we can create and maintain sustainable habits and that we can transition easily and comfortably. I hope that you feel open to talk to me, if there is anything that I'm doing that needs to be changed and share with me how your family prefers to operate. Open and honest communication will be our key to a long-term and successful relationship! I look forward to hearing from you and cant wait to meet you! :) Mickey!
More ⇩

Experience

My parents started a non-profit organization for disadvantaged children in South Africa, providing education that they were not receiving in the schools. I worked diligently with them, educating the children; taking care of them by feeding them and cleaning them; entertained and played with them all - children between the ages of newborn to 18 years old. The was my training ground as these kids were usually neglected and traumatized and I used this opportunity to learn how to adapt and treat every child uniquely according to their personality. From there, I knew I wanted to work with kids. I first worked with a family in South Africa who had 2 daughters; 8 and 6 at the time I worked with them. I picked them up from school and took care of them until their parents got home. We did homework as well. I enjoyed my time with them and was able to form a really close bond with both girls.

From there, I took a leap of faith and went to China. Here, I was responsible for 3 children, 2,3 and 7. Working with these children allowed me to understand the differences between culture and language and learn to form close bonds even though we didn’t always understand each other. I relied on affection and tonality to communicate to the children and I sought first to understand their culture before trying to make them understand mine. I engaged with them in play and worked on their language skills, assisting with homework and extra studies.

In my current role,I live in Charlotte, NC in the United States and I work with 4 children; 13, 11, 8 and 4. In this job, my main focus is balancing the different schedules and organizing their daily activities. Each child has a unique set of interests and activities and likes and dislikes when it comes to food and ways of being engaged. I enjoy spending time entertaining them with sports and outdoor activities including taking them to the park and fun events like the arcade and trampoline park. I work with each of them on homework and their personal studies, as well as learn their mannerisms and behavior to best adapt the daily routines to their personal styles. So main duties include take them to and from school, doing homework, making sure chores are done.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Personal information

Non-SmokerCan swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes
Has a driver's license - Yes, with experience

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license Yes, with experience

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Current occupation Au Pair

Education College

Basic knowledge of -

Sports  Hockey, soccer, basketball

Religion Christian

For the Au Pair religion is Not important

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems Nut Allergy

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - NoDoes accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Duration of stay 7-9 months

Earliest starting date Nov 2019

Latest starting date Jul 2020

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

Does accept family with pets

Can take care of pets

Can work more for extra money

Preferred area Big City, Suburb

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 201 - 500

Age group 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 3

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.