Au Pair ID 726560

Nationality New Zealander | More ⇩

Full name Amy

City/State Christchuch/ Canterbury

Country New Zealand

Start Jan 2020 - Sep 2020

Duration of stay 7-9 months

Good knowledge of English

Last action 17 Days Ago

Would you like to contact this Au Pair?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, Log In to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
3
Profile visited by 3 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
50%
Answer Rate

Letter to the family

Dear Host Family
My name is Amy. I am a 26 year old female New Zealand student. Although I mainly live in Christchurch, which is in the South Island of New Zealand, where I have just completed my undergraduate studies in English and Media and Communication at the University of Canterbury. I grew up in a small town called Waipara.

I have a good relationship with my family, Sometimes there is a little quarrel but I think this is normal and we try to resolve our problems together.

I am yet to make up my mind concerning my future area of specialization but I am leaning towards Journalism or marketing and advertising. So, at the moment, I would like to take some time out and to have a different life experience, and to have time to calmly reflect on my future academic/professional orientation. To this end, I think spending some time abroad would be particularly interesting.

I went to primary school at Waipara School, it was a small school with 40 students. After Primary I went to St Margarets college in Christchurch. As my parents lived out of town i became a boarder. Being a boarder has had a great impact on my life, it help me become independent and learn how to take care of myself and others. In my final year there, I helped look after the new and younger students adjust to boarding life. I would help with homework and getting them off to bed. After High School I went straight to Canterbury University in Christchurch were i studied English and Media and Communication. I lived in a hall for my first two years.

It is not always easy to take care of children but it is a great experience to share some time with them. I try to be polite, creative and humorous. It is a dream of mine to travel and I can combine it with a wonderful and interesting job: to care for your children. Another hobby of mine is reading and music. One of my best characteristics is my tolerance. Nowadays it is very important to be tolerant because there are so many different countries and traditions.
More ⇩

Experience

I have spent the last two years looking after twins (Boy and Girl) in Brisbane Australia, starting from when they turned 1. I did everything from cooking for them to putting them to bed some at nights. I have a great relationship with the family, where I chat with them regularly. At the moment I am helping look after two boys 22 and 6 months old in Sydney.

More of my experience in childcare is looking after my younger brother and while i was boarding helping the younger students. The main interaction and most of my experience comes from doing voluntary work at after school care. While I was volunteering i decided that i really like looking after children.

I would like to become an Au Pair abroad because our time abroad gives you the chance to truly discover who you are and what you enjoy. Moving away from your normal environment gives you a new perspective, and interacting with people from different countries allows you to view yourself, others, and the world differently. There is a freedom in moving somewhere where you can reinvent yourself, become a part of a new family, and try out a new job. Also because I am able to travel abroad and still have stability. Additionally, being a caretaker for children will be a rewarding experience and my time abroad will have purpose and a goal.
More ⇩

Personal information

Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Current occupation Waiter/Waitress

Education University

Basic knowledge of English

Sports  Netball. basic knowledge of Rugby

Religion No Religion

For the Au Pair religion is Not important

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems Allergic to ibuprofen.

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - NoDoes accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Duration of stay 7-9 months

Earliest starting date Jan 2020

Latest starting date Sep 2020

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

Does accept family with pets

Can take care of pets

Can work more for extra money

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town, Village, Countryside

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 201 - 500

Age group 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 3

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.