Member ID 1262934

Tutor for English, French, Sport

Nationality New Zealander | More ⇩

Full name Materia

City/State Christchurch/ Canterbury

Country New Zealand

Start Dec 2020 - Mar 2021

Duration of stay 4-6 months

Good knowledge of French (B1), English (Native), Māori (Native)

Last action 17 Aug 2020

Would you like to contact this Au Pair?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
1
Profile visited by 1 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
0%
Answer Rate

Letter to the family

Kia Ora My name is Materia and I am from Aotearoa/New Zealand.

I have a high expectation for myself when I work, either it be hands on factory work or working with children or elderly. I always give tasks the attention they need, therefore often I am very picky and OCD when it comes to doing or completing jobs. I have been through military training so when given tasks or things to do during the day that requires specific time management, I am capable to complete them to the standard set. I have a nickname that my family call me and that is 'captain'. This for my strict attitude when cleaning the house and for my firm attitude for my siblings when I tell them that they are not getting anymore biscuits. I can be strict and firm, but overall I do care and I do have fun.
More ⇩

Experience

I do not have certified training in childcare, therefore I cannot show certificates. But I have had a lot of experiencing in my life with looking after children. From an early age, I was entrusted to look after my siblings, cousins and close relatives. I can not stress enough of how often I had to take care of my siblings, it wasn't just feeding them. It was making their food, making their school lunch while also making mine. Washing their clothes, bathing them after dinner, taking them by pram to their preschool. Changing their nappies, entertaining them and the list goes on. So I do have lots of experiencing with childcare but the only difference from others is that I was taught by my mother, grandmother's and aunties.

I have been a Navy cadet for 6 years, therefore I have been trained under naval standards. I have completed specific course to teach new cadets from the ages of 12 years, sailing, rope work, boat skills, first aid and many more. So not only I can care for children, I am also qualified by Navy cadet standards to teach children/young adults.

I would love to become an aupair because It'll be such an amazing experience to work with children and adults of different nationalities and different backgrounds in their own country. Observing how different their surroundings or up bringings will be from when I was growing up in New Zealand. It will a good experiencing being surrounded by locals to really get the true feeling of the environment and atmosphere. It's a passion of mine to find other peoples passion, to work with people to find what they truly aspire to be or what they are made of. I have seen in specific countries, identifying how hard schooling can be for children because of the pressure to be something when they leave school or even going to school can be difficult for the parents to afford. Therefore I feel a huge responsibility for the experience I might get being an aupair, because I won't just to caring for the children physically, but there is a big mental and social factor that also needs to be identified and maybe improved, or maybe not. But mental and physical welbeing is important to me so I can really inspire children so they can aspire for they want.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Personal information

Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes
Has a driver's license - Yes, with experience

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license Yes, with experience

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Retail

Education University

Basic knowledge of Japanese (A1)

Sports  basketball, rugby, football, handball, netball

Religion

For the Au Pair religion is

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems No

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - No

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town, Village, Countryside

Duration of stay 4-6 months

Earliest starting date Dec 2020

Latest starting date Mar 2021

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 201 - 500

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 6

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

Can teach subjects English, French, Sport

To students of age group Infants (0-1), Toddlers (2-3), Preschoolers (4-5), Primary school (6-12), Teenagers (13-17)

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.