Member ID 2753892

Nationality American | More ⇩

Full name Catherine

City/State Concord/ California

Country USA

Start Apr 2024 - Jun 2024

Duration of stay 12-16 Months

Good knowledge of French (B1), English (Native)

Last action 5 days ago

Would you like to contact Catherine?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Applicants.
0
Added as favorite 0 time in the last 3 weeks
7
Profile visited by 7 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
20%
Answer Rate

Letter to the family

**ALREADY HAVE MY AU PAIR VISA AND CURRENTLY LIVE IN PARIS**

Hello Au Pair Family!

I'm Cate, a 21 year old from the surrounding area of San Francisco, California. I just graduated with a 3.75 accumulative GPA in the spring of 2023 from the University of California, Davis with a double major in Psychology and Human Development. As a career, I would like to become a child therapist to help young individuals feel supported and cared for in a positive environment. Outside of academics, I love to be in nature, exercise, wheel throw/pottery, read, watch films, and cook!

After undergraduate school, I am planning on continuing my education by obtaining a license in marriage family therapy (MFT). However, I wanted to take a gap year in-between undergraduate and graduate schooling as an opportunity to travel, study French for a year, and create new experiences and perspectives. Once I heard about the position of an Au Pair, I knew it was perfect for me.

Ever since I was little, I've always wanted to travel to Paris. The fashion, food, museums, and parks always fascinated me, drawing me in to learn more. And what better way to learn about Parisian culture than immerse yourself in it? The importance of cultural exchange is vital to promoting diversity and inclusivity, which I hope to bring to this role. I would hope as an Au Pair to meet a family that I can have reliable, mutual communication with that makes me feel comfortable away from home. I would like to develop a warm relationship with the family built on trust and respect and bond with the child/children.

Throughout my broad experiences with children in jobs and family life, I knew that I wanted to make a difference in this world by helping kids become their most authentic selves by feeling supported, respected, and included. Young people are the future of this planet, meaning we can learn so much from them as they can learn from us. I would love to be a part of that process, especially abroad as an Au Pair. I look forward to meeting you soon!

Warmly,
Cate
More ⇩

Experience

I love spending time with children, as it is what I plan to do for my profession. I have experience as an Au Pair already, working with two young boys in Paris for the duration of three months. During the week, I dropped them off and picked them up from school/nursery and watched them during the day on Wednesdays. I always made sure we had activities to do, including baking, playing with toys, drawing/painting, singing, and going to the park. I also cooked food, cleaned the house, changed diapers, and got the children dressed. My previous Au Pair parents can provide a letter of recommendation if desired!

In addition, I worked with a separate family in Paris which involved one 8 year old boy, a 6 year old girl, and a 4 year old girl. I would pick them up from school, take them to the park or a nearby Espace Ludo, and prepare them for bed (give dinner, bath, put on pyjamas, brush their teeth). I also did light housework such as unloading the dishwasher/washing dishes, folding and putting away laundry, preparing the kids' school clothes for the next day.

During college, I took part in a nonprofit club called Princess Pals (pre-COVID). We would dress up as Disney princesses and visit children in children's hospitals and women's shelters. To see the smile and excitement on the kids' faces is something I will never forget. I understood that their current circumstances must have been so difficult to endure, especially at such a young age, that to make their day by seeing their favorite princesses was beyond worthwhile.

During my senior year of college, I worked as a mentor for a nonprofit organization called Green Light Get Outside. We would regularly visit K-12 schools in the surrounding area to interact with children who were labeled "at-risk" or struggled in academic, behavior, and/or social skills. We delivered social emotional learning in nature that cultivates healthy communication, healing experiences, self-confidence, and self-regulation. My role in particular was to serve as a positive role model for students to look up to and connect with. I created life-changing relationships with these children that I will never forget. Not only did I make an impact on them, but they made a huge positive impact on me.

In the summer of my senior year of high school, I served as a nanny for a family that had a 10 year old boy and a 7 year old girl. Since they were on summer vacation, I would spend the entire day with them while their parents were at work. We would go outside and ride bikes, play basketball, color and paint, and play games. I would also prepare meals for the kids and perform light cleaning around the house.

On a more personal note, I'm an aunt to my 3 year old nephew and 2 year old niece. They're my older sister's children, and they live close by so I see them often. I will babysit the kids when my sister and her fiancé are working or going on vacation. I change their diapers, make them food, play games, and prepare them for bed. It's always such a treat to see them!
More ⇩

Personal information

Non-SmokerCan swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes
Has a driver's license - Yes, with experience

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license Yes, with experience

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Customer Service Industry

Education University

Language Knowledge

English: Native Language
French: Intermediate (B1), Since 1 Year/s

Religion

For the Au Pair religion is

Special diet considerations Vegetarian

Has health problems No

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred countries France

Preferred area Big City

Duration of stay 12-16 Months

Earliest starting date Apr 2024

Latest starting date Jun 2024

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 201 - 500

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 2

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Applicants.