Member ID 2220010

Nationality German | More ⇩

Full name Magdalena

City/State Cupertino/ California

Country USA

Start Aug 2022 - Nov 2022

Duration of stay 9-12 Months

Good knowledge of French (B1), German (Native), English (Native)

Last action 13 days ago

Would you like to contact Magdalena?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Applicants.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
3
Profile visited by 3 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
0%
Answer Rate

Letter to the family

Dear Host Family,
My name is Magdalena, I am 17 years old and a German-American California girl. I was born on September 26, 2004, and I grew up in the Silicon Valley, in Cupertino, with my parents Cornelia and Werner, and my siblings Johannes and Katharina. For the past 4 years, I’ve been living alone with my parents. My sister moved out when I was really young, she is now 33 and lives and works close by. My brother graduated 4 years ago and is now completing his bachelors in Munich, Germany. My father works as a software developer at Apple and my mother is the executive director at GABA (German American Business Association). Both my parents are originally from Germany and came to the United States over 20 years ago. Therefore, I have theGerman/European as well as US citizenship.
I currently attend the German International School of Silicon Valley (GISSV) where I will graduate with the German Abitur and the American High School Diploma end of May 2022. This private school offers classes from preschool to 12th grade and I’ve attended GISSV since 1st grade. My education at GISSV was bilingual, i.e. I had lessons in both my native languages; English and German. I’ve also been learning French for 6 years. At the GISSV summer camp 2021, I also completed a counselor-in-training program. For 6 weeks, I took care of children ranging from the ages 3 to 12. We spent each day learning some German language during “class time”. Then we would move on to some fun arts & crafts activities, playtimes, lunches, and sports. I really loved working with the kids and I want to spend more time with children in the future. In addition to the summer camp, I also helped with child care at my school when there were special events like teacher/staff training. Also during the pandemic, I hosted online meetings for young children and encouraged kids to log on and read a book together with me to help them improve their German language skills and also to support them during the stressful isolation period.
I am someone who's very open to trying new things. Throughout my life, I’ve had plenty of hobbies. Especially, I like to do active things. I danced ballet for almost 10 years, and have also done other types of dances such as lyrical, jazz, and hip-hop. I was on my school’s volleyball team and I started to go surfing about 3 years ago. I also love to go hiking with my friends and family. Furthermore, I enjoy peaceful hobbies such as reading, cooking/ baking, visiting art museums, and watching movies with my family. I’ve also tried playing many instruments such as the piano, flute, ukulele, guitar, and violin throughout my life. I’ve been playing the violin for 10 years and am a member of my school’s orchestra. Another hobby of mine is traveling; I like to meet new people and see new places. In 2018, I participated in a 3-months exchange program with Dresden, Germany, where I attended a German public school and experienced a much different European lifestyle.
One of the things I’m most passionate about is art. I am a very creative person and I love to draw and paint. My biggest interest though is architecture. I grew up close to San Francisco which only provoked my interest in architecture. After my Au Pair year, I would love to study architecture.
When she was young, my mother worked as an Au Pair in Paris. From when I was born until the age of 11, I grew up with AuPairs in our family. Indeed, growing up, I’ve had the best experiences with my dear Au Pairs and for some years now it has been my dream to be like the Au Pairs that I had when I was a child. I believe that I would be a good AuPair because I have plenty of experience with child care, and I do love working with children. I also believe that I possess the qualities to be a good Au Pair. I am positive, calm, attentive, honest, social, independent, and kind, but–when necessary– I can also be strict. In addition, I am used to doing common household tasks and I also have my California driver’s license since October 2021.
In conclusion, I would like to thank you very much for reading my letter. I look forward to hearing from you.

With best regards,
Magdalena
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Personal information

Are you fully vaccinated against Covid-19? - Yes
Non-SmokerCan swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes
Has a driver's license - Yes, with experience

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license Yes, with experience

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Student - High School

Education Primary School

Language Knowledge

German: Native Language, Since 17 Year/s
English: Native Language, Since 17 Year/s
French: Intermediate (B1), Since 6 Year/s

Sports  Surfing, Dancing, Volleyball

Religion No Religion

For the Au Pair religion is Not important

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems pollen allergy, asthma

Information about COVID-19

Were you infected with Covid-19?  Yes

If yes, when did you get infected?  Apr - 2022

Do you have the report of Covid-19 infection?  Yes

Are you fully vaccinated against Covid-19?  Yes

Name of Vaccine  Pfizer/BionTech

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred countries France

Preferred area Big City

Duration of stay 9-12 Months

Earliest starting date Aug 2022

Latest starting date Nov 2022

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 100 - 200

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 3

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with the mother

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Applicants.