Member ID 1312123

Nationality British | More ⇩

Full name Bryony

City/State Darlington/ Durham

Country United Kingdom

Start Sep 2019 - Dec 2021

Duration of stay 1-3 months

Good knowledge of English (Native)

Last action 14 days ago

Would you like to contact this Au Pair?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
16
Profile visited by 16 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
0%
Answer Rate

Letter to the family

Dear Host Family,

My name is Bryony. I am a 19-year-old British student. Although I am currently living in China, where I am 2 months short of completing my GAP year ‘teaching English as a foreign language’, I am originally from a small town called ‘Darlington’ in the North East of England.

I come from a small family of 4. My parents, Phil and Carla, are my role models in life as they always inspire me to try new things. My father works in the Department of Education for Darlington Borough Council and my mother works in retail. I also have an older sister, Dayna, who is in her first year at Goldsmiths university in London, studying art and photography. Also, in our family, we have one dog, Ted, and one rabbit, Romeo.
My first language is English, additionally I speak intermediate level French. I began learning French in primary school and have carried on with my passion for the French language until completing my A-levels. Throughout my studies, I have been fascinated by France and its culture, and how it differs to my own. Hence, why I would like to become an Au Pair, both to widen my knowledge of other cultures and to experience family life in a different environment.

When it comes to experience with child care, both professionally and in my spare time as a babysitter, I have realized how passionate I am about working with children. I am close to completing my internship in China, in which I have worked closely with ages 4-18. One example is helping in the boarding house (ages 13-18). Whilst supporting them academically, with homework, and preparation for exams, I also organize and take part in fun recreational activities such as sports, games, quiz nights, and arts and crafts. Likewise, I also have experience with younger years (ages 5-10). For example, I support groups of students in class, as well as doing 1-1 tuition. I also lead and help with after school activities, such as rounders, teaching beginners French, and arts and crafts.
From a personal perspective, I have always wanted younger siblings. Whilst being in China I have been fortunate enough to have a family with two younger children living in the apartment below me, being abroad for a year has allowed me to build a close rapport with them through babysitting, as well as through spending time with the family. I sincerely enjoy being around children as there is never a dull moment, and they are always guaranteed to brighten your day.

During my free time I really enjoy being outdoors! Whether it be a bike ride, or going on a long walk with my dog, I enjoy the fresh air and being able to explore. Before my A-level exams began, I volunteered at my local stables every Saturday. Not only did I enjoy horse riding, I loved seeing the smiles on children’s faces. I taught them how to groom and feed the horses. I also lead horses during the lessons, helping all ages of all different abilities, ensuring the children felt safe and were enjoying the experience. On top of this, I enjoy increasing my linguistic knowledge, being in China has enabled me to develop a basic knowledge of Mandarin. Practicing has not only increased my confidence in pronunciation but has facilitated my day to day interactions.

In my opinion, I would describe myself as a bubbly, altruistic character, who has a high level of sensitivity to the varying needs and demands of every child. I am adaptable to new and quick changing environments, I also have great patience and understanding in all situations, which has been repeatedly practiced whilst teaching new skills in a foreign language. Likewise, I can communicate well with all ages, despite language barrier issues, which would help create clear communication between me and the Family. Above all, I would love to become an Au Pair as I am incredibly passionate and have genuine interest and love for children.

In terms of preferences, I am looking for a live-in arrangement with a host family. On my application I have selected the duration of 1-3 months, however this could be happily extended by mutual agreement. I would prefer to look after the ages 5-15+ and a maximum of 3 children, due to having the most experience with school age children. Lastly, I have no preference about working hours, I am highly adaptable and prepared to give my all. No matter the situation or circumstance, with me, you would have a new and dedicated member of your family, somebody you can rely on.

I am best contacted by email due to being in China, I would be happy to answer any questions you may have regarding my application; I would also be grateful for an opportunity to speak with you to learn more about your family; and hear your expectations for the Au Pair arrangement.

Thank you for taking the time to read over my application and I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours Sincerely,
Bryony
More ⇩

Experience

I am currently finishing my GAP year in the North of China, which is due to finish in July. I have been working with ages 4-18 in Wellington College International Tianjin; teaching multiple subjects such as English, French, Math’s, and Science. As well as getting the opportunity to travel independently around Asia.

During the school week I spend around 13 hours working with year one pupils. This is one of my favorite year groups to work with, as they offer unique challenges, due to them developing and growing at a more rapid pace compared to students in their teens. In addition to supporting them in lessons, I also help with other roles such as serving lunch and snack, escorting the children to get picked up after school, and supervising their playtime. Having the opportunity to work with a range of children has increased my desire in becoming an Au Pair. I enjoy each individual and unique interaction you have with each child. This could be a specific greeting with one child, such as a cool high five or a hug, or learning more about them, knowing their hobbies or special talents. No child is alike, meaning everyday is something new and something exciting!

For me, after building a close rapport with the children, teaching no longer feels like a ‘job’, but simply feels like being a part of a family. This is one of the reasons why I would like to become an Au Pair, as watching them grow through their formative years is incredibly rewarding when you have a close connection and get to see them flourish in life.

Being a boarding house tutor has also enabled me to actively see the progress students make with their relationships and interactions. This has shown me how important a close connection to the young individual is. In addition to guiding them with their interpersonal development, I have also supported them with their studies in a diverse range of subjects.

I have also taken on some babysitting roles in my spare time. One of these babysitting roles has been taking care of a girl, aged five, and a boy, aged seven. My responsibilities include, providing entertainment in the evenings, preparing them for bed, as well as putting them to bed, which will be transferable to being an Au Pair.
Furthermore, I believe in today’s society especially, integrating yourself and becoming aware of other cultures, through travel or work abroad, is a valuable and important aspect of growing as a person. This is directly connected to my current internship in China, a culture very different from the one I am accustomed to. I would like to create a deeper understanding of the different places around the world, whether being in the UK or abroad, to develop my knowledge and appreciation.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Personal information

Non-SmokerCan swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes
Has a driver's license - Yes, no experience

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Student

Education College

Language Knowledge

English: Native Language
French: Beginner (A1)

Sports  Hockey, Rugby, Rounders, Horse riding, Badminton

Religion No Religion

For the Au Pair religion is Not important

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems No

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town, Village, Countryside

Duration of stay 1-3 months

Earliest starting date Sep 2019

Latest starting date Dec 2021

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 800 +

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 3

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

Can teach subjects

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.