Au Pair ID 1420295

Nationality German | More ⇩

Full name Laura

City/State Dublin/ California

Country USA

Start Oct 2019 - Oct 2019

Duration of stay 10-12 months

Good knowledge of German (Native), English (C1)

Last action 17 Oct 2019

Would you like to contact this Au Pair?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, Log In to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
0
Profile visited by 0 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
0%
Answer Rate

Letter to the family

Dear future host family,

It is weird to write a letter to someone that you don’t even know yet, but I will try my best to give you an impression of myself and my daily life in Germany. I understand how important it is to get to know the person who will live with you and take care of your kids beforehand. First of all I want to thank you for taking the time to read my letter and for giving me the chance to introduce myself and the reasons why I would like to become your Au Pair.

My name is Laura and I live in a village next to a medium-sized town called Großenhain, which is in the east of Germany. I live with my parents and my little brother Manuel. My big sister Sarah already moved out and lives with her husband and her daughter in Großenhain. I see her as often as possible and once to three times per week we pick my little niece Elsa up from the kinder garden. My father has his own company which sells renewable energy and my mum works as an clerk in the social sector. My sister works in a kinder garden and my brother is still attending school just like me. In July 2019 I will finish school and pass my A-levels.

In the following paragraph I will give you a little insight into my daily routine:
Early in the morning my mom, my brother and I leave the house together. I got my drivers license early this year and I drive everyday to practice my driving skills. I have experience with cars with gear shift as well as automatics. In the course of getting my drivers license I also took part at a first aid course in which they taught us first aid for children and babies.
Riding is always on my daily to-do-list. I have my own horse, I got him when I was twelve years old and his name is Amor. Through Amor I learned to take care for somebody and to be reasonable for them. It helped me a lot, because I have grown in my personality and became more mature. I had my first riding lesson at the age of six and now I am a successful eventing rider. Another hobby of my self is drawing and painting. I also really like poetry and sometimes I write poems myself. I also joined an actor club in Germany.
From the first day I am a very enthusiastic and ambitious person. I don’t do things half-heartedly, if I want to succeed, I give more than 100 percent. I believe in „if you can dream it you can do it“, you just have to work hard enough to reach your goals.

After a riding session I drive back home, meet friends and get my school work done. I drive a lot and because of that I almost always find myself humming along and the tune will be stuck in my mind for hours, so I nearly can sing along every song that ever played on the radio. Music is a universal language and I am always fascinated how people can spread their message to the world by their songs. If you see me at a party I am the one, who is always dancing. I really like pop, hip hop and rap. In contrast to that I like to play sonatas of Beethoven or Mozart for example on the piano. My favorite is the moonlight sonata. I learned playing the piano twelve years ago and I have a teaching license because I absolved specific exams of classical music.
The rest of the day I talk with my family about the news or political topics or we make a plan for the rest of the week.
Usually my mom and I prepare dinner together, but my brother is not as bad at cooking as guys presumable are and sometimes he helps us as well. I would say we as a family are very sporty and live a healthy lifestyle.

Now I would like to tell you something about my childcare experience. I grew up in a settlement were many children live so I was always in contact with children. Since I have a little brother I already started caring for children at the age of ten and I had to learn very early what a big responsibility it is to take care of a little child, but I always enjoyed the time when my little brother was young because now he is a teenager and learned very well how to get on the nerves of his big sister.
The first experience in the field of childcare other than with my siblings I gained at the age of twelve years. I looked after a two-year old boy named Elia who lived next door. Besides I have one little cousin who also lives in Großenhain and two cousins, who live in Bavaria, which is about four hours away from my home town, and whenever I see them I look after them and we have a lot of fun together.
I also looked after my neighbor Naima for four years and we did a lot of things together like playing games, going to the playground, painting with chalks on the street or reading out books. Furthermore, I helped putting her to bed or making dinner for her. Once a week I also train children at the riding stable and teach them how to ride.The biggest childcare experience I made was at a practical music training in a kindergarten. I worked there together with two kindergarten teachers and my piano teacher in a group of around 20 children from ages three to six. We played a lot, inside as well as outside, we ate breakfast together and I helped them dress when we went outside for example. I also danced, sang and played instruments with them.
Finally, let me answer the essential question: Why do I want to become an Au pair? The simplest answer is: I love children. I love to see them smiling, their shining eyes, their happiness when they learn something new and their imagination. I like to see them growing up and spending time with them.

Besides I would like to get to know the American way of life and the different culture. I want to spent Christmas and Thanksgiving with you, celebrate the 4th of July and so on.
The USA are known as the „Country of the boundless possibilities“ and because of that, I am looking forward to trying out new things, getting to know the „American way of life“ and also to have unforgettable experiences.

It would be great to become more independent and self-confident during the year abroad and I hope to increase my experience in childcare. I would be really excited to live with you for one year and get the chance to create beautiful memories that last forever.

I am looking forward to hearing from you soon and I hope we will spent a great time together!

Best wishes from Germany,

Laura
More ⇩

Personal information

Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes
Has a driver's license - Yes, with experience

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license Yes, with experience

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Current occupation Babysitter

Education College

Basic knowledge of Spanish (A1), Dutch (A1)

Sports  -riding, dancing, athletics, yoga, swimming

Religion No Religion

For the Au Pair religion is Not important

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems no

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - NoDoes accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Duration of stay 10-12 months

Earliest starting date Oct 2019

Latest starting date Oct 2019

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

Does accept family with pets

Can take care of pets

Can work more for extra money

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town, Village, Countryside

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 800 +

Age group 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 4

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.