Member ID 1707431

Nationality Dutch | More ⇩

Full name Manon

City/State Edinburgh/

Country Scotland

Start May 2021 - Jun 2021

Duration of stay 1-3 months

Good knowledge of English (C2), French (B2), Dutch (Native)

Last action 25 days ago

Would you like to contact this Au Pair?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
1
Profile visited by 1 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
NA
Answer Rate - Not Applicable

Letter to the family

Dear family,

I hope you are well and healthy when you are reading this. I'll start with telling you a little bit about myself. My name is Manon, I am 21 years old, and I study philosophy and theology in Edinburgh. I was raised with a curious outlook to the world, I love traveling, reading, being outside and being creative. I am originally from the Netherlands, but only my dad is Dutch, and my mom is French, and my two siblings and I were thus brought up in a bilingual household. Five years ago, my family and I moved to Sweden from the Netherlands, were I went to an international school and met all kinds of different people and cultures. I would thus say I am quite flexible and responsible. I make friends easily, and I am usually up for anything. For the past two and a half years, I have lived and studied in Scotland, and I am hoping to pursue journalism in America after I finish my degree.

Now for the more practical stuff! I would really like to become an au pair because I love being around children; I have a passion for looking after others, teaching others, and seeing people, and especially children grow. It's a pretty hands on job, and I really like applying the skills that I have acquired (making tasks fun, fun and effective ways to do homework, making sure a kid feels validated while also practicing boundaries, etc.) As mentioned before, being outside and creative are important to me, basically the things that many children love too. I have three years of babysitting experience, and during the time that I held that job, I realized that it was kind of perfect to have a job where I get to do things that I enjoy. Becoming an au pair would be great, as I get to be around children, and see and live in another country, something I am always curious about.

I am aware that the responsibility in this kind of work is immense, and several experiences in my life, such as being the eldest child, traveling at a young age, and being the secretary of my student society, have made sure I have experienced and felt responsibility at different levels and in different ways. Being secure in this sense of responsibility, I feel that I can create a space in which children can explore and be curious, and most of all have fun
and feel safe. As mentioned before, I have three years of babysitting experience, and my responsibilities included helping out with homework, making dinner (often together when the children wanted to help out), bringing children to school and picking them up again. I have helped children learn how to read, and have experience with the learning disabilities dyslexia and dyscalculia. The ages of the kids I used to look after ranged from 2 months to 11 years old, so can help from changing diapers and reading bedtime stories to doing homework. The babysitting that I did was within both Dutch families and other cultures, and I am used to adapting. Having lived away from home for the past two and a half years, I am used to cleaning, cooking and generally making sure the house looks tidy. Big pro: I am lovely to live with and will often test my baking skills on the others in the house (my flatmates are good references!) Overall, I believe I am a good fit for many families, and will take my job very seriously as well as (hopefully) have a lot of fun!


I hope this has given you sufficient information, and if you have any more questions, please don't hesitate to contact me.
I hope to hear from you soon!

Manon
More ⇩

Experience

More ⇩

Personal information

Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Student

Education University

Language Knowledge

Dutch: Native Language, Since 21 Year/s
English: Mastery (C2), Since 10 Year/s
French: Upper intermediate (B2), Since 10 Year/s

Sports  Volleyball, running, handball, cycling, swimming, baseball

Religion Other

For the Au Pair religion is Important

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems No

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town, Village, Countryside

Duration of stay 1-3 months

Earliest starting date May 2021

Latest starting date Jun 2021

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 50 - 100

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 2

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.