Member ID 1481579

Tutor for Mathematics, English, Sport

Nationality Singaporean | More ⇩

Full name Ashley

City/State Edinburgh/ Edinburgh

Country United Kingdom

Start Jun 2020 - Aug 2020

Duration of stay 1-3 months

Good knowledge of Japanese (B2), Italian (B1), English (Native), Chinese (Native)

Last action 12 Days Ago

Would you like to contact this Au Pair?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, Log In to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.
1
Profile added to the favorite list of 1 candidates in the last 3 weeks
13
Profile visited by 13 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
24%
Answer Rate

Letter to the family

Hello there!

I'm Ashley (but you can call me Ash), a Singaporean Chinese presently into my third year of undergraduate studies at Edinburgh University studying English Literature. I'm studying abroad so my family (consisting of my parents and younger brother) is all back in Singapore.

I'm very creative - I love reading and writing poetry. I'm also big on watching movies - I adore anything by Wes Anderson films and love indie films. I like photography, namely nature, human, travel and film photography. I like to cook as well - cooking healthy but delicious vegan meals for my loved ones is my passion. Baking is so therapeutic to me too! I'm also very active and like to keep fit (exercise releases happy hormones!!!) I do a kind of physical activity at least once a day without fail. I do a lot of power yoga and flow yoga but otherwise, I go to the gym or to bachata dance classes. Indeed, I also thoroughly enjoy singing (I used to perform in a band both in Singapore and in Edinburgh) and dancing (hip-hop or latin dances). Ideally, I would like to do a lot more swimming and hiking this summer as I feel like I unfortunately hardly get to do so when I'm in a colder country. I just love being in nature! I am a vegan and an environmentalist/eco-activist. I dedicate a lot of time to causes I care a lot about and believe strongly in.

In general, I'm an incredibly upbeat, bubbly and positive person. I'm also very chatty and talkative about literally anything under the sky. I'm very keen on meeting new people and getting to really know them for who they are. I'm very sensitive and empathetic; I introspect a lot and feel things very strongly. I'm quite a go-getter and am always rather determined to persevere when I have a goal in mind. I like to keep productive always and am always on a continuous journey towards greater self-improvement and growth.

After being an Au Pair & Tutor, I hope to use any knowledge or skills gained from this experience to apply it to my future interactions with children, be it on another volunteering gig or in my work (I will be working at the public libraries of Singapore as I am presently holding a scholarship with them and am bonded to the National Library Board of Singapore)
More ⇩

Experience

I want to become an Au Pair & Tutor because I am very much passionate about learning about and experiencing cultures different from mine and what better way to do it than to live with a local Host Family to fully immerse myself in the culture! I also absolutely adore children so to be able to care for them and teach them as part of my job is so incredibly ideal. My peers and colleagues often comment I sometimes resemble a child myself as I seem to have an endless amount of energy having so much fun hanging out with the kids haha. It would also be lovely if I could really get to know and grow closer to my Host Family - it's honestly the people that make the experience that much more meaningful.

I have cared for children ranging from ages 3 to 10 previously, be it on a one-on-one basis or in a group, in both my home country, Singapore and abroad. I have either been appointed sole caretaker of them for a few hours up to a day where I would cook for them, play with them, bring them out on trips etc or have been asked to tutor them on subjects such as English and Mathematics at their home or when I worked at a tutoring agency. Just last summer, I spent close to 2 months in China and Mongolia volunteering at a summer camp for disadvantaged children where I would teach them English, cook for them and also organise activities for them, such as sports festivals, hiking trips, swimming and talent shows.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

More ⇩

Personal information

Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can swim well - Yes

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Current occupation Student

Education University

Basic knowledge of -

Sports  Yoga, Running, Swimming, Dance, Gymming

Religion No Religion

For the Au Pair religion is Not important

Special diet considerations Vegan

Has health problems No

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town, Village, Countryside

Duration of stay 1-3 months

Earliest starting date Jun 2020

Latest starting date Aug 2020

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 201 - 500

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 3

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

Can teach subjects Mathematics, English, Sport

To students of age group Preschoolers (4-5), Primary school (6-12), Teenagers (13-17), Young adults (18-30)

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.