Member ID 2239198

Nationality Portuguese | More ⇩

Full name Aura Gabriela

City/State Faro/

Country Portugal

Start Jun 2022 - Jul 2022

Duration of stay 1-3 Months

Good knowledge of English (C2), French (B2), Spanish (C1), Portuguese (Native), Romanian (Native)

Last action 2 days ago

Would you like to contact Aura Gabriela?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Applicants.
1
Profile added to the favorite list of 1 candidates in the last 3 weeks
14
Profile visited by 14 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
100%
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Letter to the family

Hello, allow me to introduce myself, my name is Aura Gabriela, I'm 19 years old, born on 25/07/2002. I'm a Portuguese girl who is currently studying Undergraduate BA Politics & French at the University of Manchester in England, Great Britain, United Kingdom. I have just completed my first academic year. Prior to that I graduated from Reddam House Berkshire, also in England, Great Britain, United Kingdom, with a full scholarship as a boarding student where I completed my A-Levels in History, French, English Literature, and Portuguese which have secured me an unconditional offer at the University of Manchester in 2020. Due to Covid in 2021 I took a gap year where I started taking driving lessons in Portugal, Faro, Algarve, but due to the second lockdown it shut down, so I spent the rest of my year in Spain and Croatia. I am genuinely looking forward to be an Au pair, as in 2020-2021, I was living at my uncle and aunt's house in Faro, as my parents work outside of Portugal. Although I do not have professional au pair experience, I have always babysat my cousins and tutored them. Additionally, attending a boarding school between the ages of 16-17, I left my parent's house, and became very independent, I always travel alone, take care of myself, I can do any household chores from laundry, to ironing, cooking etc. At my boarding school I occasionally babysat the children of my teachers or boarding house parents who lived on sight with us. I was also Head of my boarding house where I always had a greater responsibility for the younger peers boarding there, tutoring them and helping them. I took part in Avanade charity event organising, where I had to supervise children at the inflatable playground. In school I was always leading activities such as Sports day, Debating, Music and Dance Competitions, which involved cooperating with children of all ages, and winning as many team competitions as possible. I can speak a great variety of languages, and I'm very open minded. I love pets and I myself used to have a husky dog, or used to always walk the dogs of my teachers when I was at school and play with them. I'm a local raised in Algarve, so I know the area very well, with the perfect background and flexibility to become an Au Pair over summer. Despite being an only child, I'm used to share living spaces with many people at once, following my boarding School experience, living in Student Accommodation in Manchester, as well as having lived with my uncle's family. I think I am mature & responsible enough as well as laid back and positive, I don't have intimidating tendencies, I'm very friendly and willing to make sure not only I keep your children safe, as well as entertained and happy, or consoled if something upsets them. Having studied English Literature, French, Portuguese & History, it is only natural I am a very curious person, who has read much and has a passion for story telling and even performing as I have engaged in theatre before. I have also been swimming since the age of 4, and practised it as my main sport at special aquatics centres and at school, meaning I can supervise children at the pool for example. I think most of all I qualify for this position because I myself have experienced home sickness, and have been around children much younger than me who were at my boarding school, having a greater depth of understanding of what it is like to miss your family, or how to make children feel at home when they live in their school.
More ⇩

Experience

I would like to become an Au Pair in Algarve, as I miss home very much, having spent this year in Manchester studying at University. However, I am almost 20 years old, and I need to become more financially independent, and the optimal time for me to work is summer time, when we have university holidays. As my parents left Portugal to pursue a career abroad, I only have my distant relatives in Algarve, and I wish to not rely so much on them, and this job is the perfect opportunity for me to spend some time at home in a very independent way. I can also tutor children in a variety of languages, which will be a great opportunity for me to practice my skills, and improve my CV.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Personal information

Are you fully vaccinated against Covid-19? - Yes
Non-SmokerCan swim well - Yes

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Student - Social Science

Education University

Language Knowledge

Portuguese: Native Language
English: Mastery (C2), Since 14 Year/s
French: Upper intermediate (B2), Since 5 Year/s
Spanish: Advanced (C1)
Romanian: Native Language

Sports  Swimming

Religion No Religion

For the Au Pair religion is Not important

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems No

Information about COVID-19

Were you infected with Covid-19?  Yes

If yes, when did you get infected?  Jan - 2022

Do you have the report of Covid-19 infection?  Yes

Are you fully vaccinated against Covid-19?  Yes

Name of Vaccine  Janssen

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred countries Portugal

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town, Village, Countryside

Duration of stay 1-3 Months

Earliest starting date Jun 2022

Latest starting date Jul 2022

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 0 hours

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 3

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Applicants.