Member ID 1839454

Nationality Canadian | More ⇩

Full name Julia

City/State Fredericton/ New Brunswick

Country Canada

Start Sep 2021 - Nov 2021

Duration of stay >1 year

Good knowledge of French (B1), English (Native)

Last action 4 hours ago

Would you like to contact Julia?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Applicants.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
13
Profile visited by 13 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
75%
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Letter to the family

Hello, future host family! My name is Julia and I'm a recent university Bachelor of Arts graduate from New Brunswick, Canada. While attending the University of New Brunswick I was the recipient of several scholarships and bursaries for writing, research, and academic performance in Political Science. I worked alongside professors as a research assistant, for a qualitative research study, and at several heritage organizations in my province. In these roles I was recognized as a valuable asset and I very much take pride in my academics. I'm a very hard worker with a love of learning.
I was born in the U.S and moved to New Brunswick as a child and have dual citizenship. My family loves to explore the world and instilled in me a love for travel from a young age. In grade school I took French immersion, an option for students in Canada as it is a bilingual country. While in University I had the opportunity to take a few Spanish language classes and learned basic Spanish. Learning languages is quite interesting to me, as each one has its own unique linguistic characteristics and a plethora of words that don't always have an English equivalent. I want to become an Au Pair because of my love of learning. I seek to make new connections around the world, meet new people, discover new cultures and languages, and learn new life skills. My mother has a long history in child care, as she was a kindergarten teacher's assistant and a nanny throughout my childhood and into adolescence. She is a wonderful, patient, kind, and understanding mom and caregiver. I have watched how she transforms the lives of the kids she takes care of, developing bonds with them that will last a lifetime. I also have had the privilege to help her out over the years, taking kids to soccer practice, making them dinner, playing outside, getting them dressed and ready for bed, or just watching them for a few hours while she did errands. I also babysat the neighbourhood kids throughout my teen years. In middle and high school I was contacted by several families of former teacher's that I have had to babysit their children during evenings and weekends. I genuinely enjoy learning their interests, playing games and going for walks, listening to them when they need to talk it out and helping them work through their feelings in healthy ways. I want to make sure that the kids have fun when they are with me, and learn new things all the time.

Fun facts: I am vegetarian and I love to cook, I know lots of recipes and don't mind if others are eating meat. I am clean and helpful around the house, tidying my space is a must. I don't mind helping cook, clean, or do laundry, take dogs for walks, run to the store, etc. As a guest, I would be very polite and respectful of your home and extremely grateful for the opportunity to work for you and get to know your family.
More ⇩

Experience

When I was 17 I went on a 1.5 week trip to Europe with some of my classmates. We visited Paris, Munich, Lucerne, Hasliberg, Neuschwanstein, and several other small towns. It was a beautiful trip, the terrain felt different, the air clean and the amount of fresh produce and food and scenic greenery was breathtaking. I enjoyed the hospitality of each place and discovering their customs. The trip has not left my mind since, I dream of returning to those places someday all the time. It would be a wonderful opportunity to be able to spend an extended period of time in Germany, Switzerland, or France.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Personal information

Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes
Has a driver's license - Yes, with experience

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license Yes, with experience

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Student

Education University

Language Knowledge

English: Native Language, Since 22 Year/s
French: Intermediate (B1), Since 15 Year/s
Spanish: Beginner (A1), Since 4 Month

Sports  Field hockey, basketball, rowing, tennis in high school. I enjoy playing casually whenever possible.

Religion Other

For the Au Pair religion is Important

Special diet considerations Vegetarian

Has health problems No

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred countries Germany

Preferred area Big City

Duration of stay >1 year

Earliest starting date Sep 2021

Latest starting date Nov 2021

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 50 - 100

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 2

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Applicants.