Member ID 1377290

Nationality Canadian | More ⇩

Full name Agi

City/State Guelph/ Ontario

Country Canada

Start Feb 2019 - Sep 2020

Duration of stay 7-9 months

Good knowledge of Hungarian (C2), English (Native)

Last action 09 Oct 2019

Would you like to contact this Au Pair?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, Log In to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
0
Profile visited by 0 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
60%
Answer Rate

Letter to the family

Hi! My name is Agi , and I'm an 18 year old girl. I am from Guelph, Canada. I am someone you can depend on to be on time, and give an extra hand whenever needed.
I grew up in a home where me being the middle-child didn't determine anything. I was treated equally to my siblings when growing up, and that sense of equality has always been present in me. I believe that children should all be given the capacity to live a good childhood, to learn, and to see the world with an open-mind. I am a patient person, and I enjoy spending time with kids, as there's a learning opportunity in everything, and I like the way children lend a fresh perspective to every situation.
I'd be willing to take care of 2 kids, ages 3 and up. If you're a family that is open to trying new tastes, I can try my hand at cooking some new recipes, or just stick to what your family prefers.
I am willing to drive, as long as the distances aren't too great, as well as do light housework that pertains to the children and keeping the house generally tidy.
I am someone that I hope your family can learn to like being around, and someone who can bring extra smiles into your home!
More ⇩

Experience

I have had several experiences taking care of children. I worked as a babysitter for my neighbour's 2 year old son, a family friends' 3 year old daughter, and as a summer camp volunteer. With my neighbour's kid it was usually an evening situation where I would arrive in the late afternoon and stay until late. My responsibilities included making sure the little guy ate his dinner, cleaning up after him, regulating tv time, playing with him, making sure he went to the bathroom as he was still in the process of being potty trained, getting him ready for bed, and reading bedtime stories until he fell asleep. He was a very energetic boy, and he constantly wanted one more episode, one more minute of play time, one more story; this required regulation on my part to not get carried away with letting him have whatever, and making sure he knew the rules were there for a reason.
I also took care of a family friends' 3 year old daughter. There were times when she would be brought to my home, and I would entertain her, play with her, got to the park, until her parents returned back from their engagements. Similarly, there were times when I would go to their house and take care of her until the parents got home. This also included keeping the house clean from the messes toddlers are susceptible to!
My latest experience with children was volunteering at a summer camp. I have spent two weeks the past summers at this camp. It was a day camp where I arrived at 8:30am and stayed until pickup time at 4pm. Children are generally shy and nervous on their first days of camp, and they can really stand apart from the rest. It was my job as a volunteer to engage with the children and get them participating. It also included being able to multitask when several kids wanted my attention. My responsibilities were: playing with the kids, getting them to the washrooms, getting them washed up, keeping an eye on them during lunch, taking care of cuts and bruises if they happened, helping them with arts and crafts, working with counselors to develop programs for the day, helping them get changed to go swimming, monitor 3 children in the pool, get them to change back into normal clothes, and making sure they had all their things when they left to go home for the day. The camp was rather large with 40 or so kids and about 5 counselors and 6 or 7 volunteers. Which meant that at all times there was approximately 3 children under my direct supervision. In my opinion, my greatest strength in these camp days was my ability to get along and engage with the more reclusive children, as by the end of the week they usually would be a lot more happy and excited to be there.
The reason au pairing abroad is a dream of mine because I get to pair two things I adore into one. I always loved the idea of travelling, but a lot of times that includes the lack of personal connections. When I heard about the opportunity to not only see the world through non-tourist eyes, but also create meaningful relationships with a local family, I fell in love. I knew it was something I had to do, and an opportunity I couldn't pass up.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Personal information

Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes
Has a driver's license - Yes, no experience

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Current occupation Student

Education Secondary School

Basic knowledge of -

Sports  No

Religion No Religion

For the Au Pair religion is Not important

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems No

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town, Village, Countryside

Duration of stay 7-9 months

Earliest starting date Feb 2019

Latest starting date Sep 2020

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 50 - 100

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 2

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

Can teach subjects

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.