Member ID 1617581

Nationality South-African | More ⇩

Full name Jamie-Leigh

City/State Heemstede/

Country Netherlands

Start Oct 2020 - Dec 2020

Duration of stay 10-12 months

Good knowledge of Afrikaans (C2), English (Native)

Last action 16 days ago

Would you like to contact this Au Pair?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
0
Profile visited by 0 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
80%
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Letter to the family

Dear Host Family
Thank you for taking the time to read my letter.
My name is Jamie and I am a 23 year‐old female from Cape Town, South Africa. I come from Melkbosstrand, a small coastal town on the Western Seaboard of Cape Town. I grew as the youngest in my family with one older brother, and older sister.The community I grew up in is a small Afrikaans‐speaking town that acts as a popular surf location and beach suburb along Cape Town’s coast. Having spoken English my whole life, I’ve always attended a bilingual school where Afrikaans became my second language. This means that English is my native language and I am fluent in Afrikaans. After spending a year living in the Netherlands, I have learnt to speak and read Dutch but there is always room for improvement! French is another language I’ve been trying to add to my list. 

I would very much like to find a wholesome family to live with and work for in Belgium. One of the reasons I enjoy working with children is that they are always highly optimistic. Because they are so young, they always bring you to a smile in the way they speak, think and react to things. I also enjoy the playful nature of a child. It reminds me not to always take life too seriously and to enjoy the moment. This makes you want to celebrate tiny moments all the time. Being able to help a child and make an impact in their life is one of the most rewarding things about caring for children. Once you realize the impact you made in a child’s life you feel like you’ve made an impact in the future of the world. The idea that a little act of kindness or responsibility in a child’s life can make an impact in society is humbling.

After living as an au pair in the Netherlands for 12 months, I feel like my time is not over. I would love to share my culture with a new family and learn theirs. In everything I do, I try to make kindness the core. I consider myself to be honest and open to learn in all situations. I like to take responsibility for my own actions and own up to any mistake or task I’ve been given. Above all I value other people. I value their time, space and opinions. How I treat other people and make them feel matters to me and I hope to bring this to your family.

Thank you for considering me as your au pair.
More ⇩

Experience

In August 2019, I moved to the Netherlands to live and work as an au pair. This means I have 12 months experience of being an au pair.

As a high school student, up until mid 2019 I volunteered at the kids church ministry in my local church. This meant I spent most Friday nights and Sunday mornings serving young people at my church. Once year we hosted a holiday club programme in which children from the community were entertained and mentored by leaders in our kids church. I had the privelege of volunteering for this holiday club programme every year between 2013 - 2019. I also spent this time working alongside the teenagers in our church (12y/o - 18 y/o).
More ⇩

References

Childcare Reference

Personal information

Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Child Care Worker

Education Secondary School

Basic knowledge of Dutch (A2)

Sports  Hockey, Running

Religion Christian

For the Au Pair religion is Not important

Special diet considerations Vegetarian

Has health problems No

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town, Village

Duration of stay 10-12 months

Earliest starting date Oct 2020

Latest starting date Dec 2020

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 800 +

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 3

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with the mother

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

Can teach subjects

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.