Member ID 1778538

Nationality Finnish | More ⇩

Full name Pinja

City/State Helsinki/

Country Finland

Start Jan 2022 - Jun 2022

Duration of stay 10-12 months

Good knowledge of English (C2), German (B2), Swedish (B1), Finnish (Native)

Last action 7 days ago

Would you like to contact Pinja?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Applicants.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
3
Profile visited by 3 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
0%
Answer Rate

Letter to the family

Hello!

My name is Pinja and I come from Finland. I was born on October 4th in 2001. An interesting fact about me is that my sister was born on the exact same day, just 8 years earlier.

I live with my mother and her husband in Helsinki, the Finnish capital, most of the time. My stepdad comes originally from Canada. I have two sisters, who live in my old hometown. I am pretty close with my family, but I'm also quite independent and I don't see my siblings that often anymore, so homesickness has never been a big issue for me. Most of my closest friends are from abroad too, so I'm used to mainly staying in touch with them through phone calls and text messages anyway. I have traveled without my family many times and it's always been a lot of fun.

Sometimes I can be quite shy at first, but once I get to know someone, I get comfortable around them and we usually become friends quite fast. I have always thought that my loyalty is my best quality. I listen to the same bands and support the same athletes I did 10 years ago, but I'm also very open-minded and always open for new experiences and people.

I graduated from one of Finland's most prestigious high schools in 2020 and due to the pandemic messing up my original plans, I ended up doing a bachelor's degree at the university in Helsinki, since I didn't want to waste a whole year. I was always a good student and enjoyed school, which I'm more glad now than ever before, since the online lectures take a lot of energy and motivation. History and languages were always my favorite subjects in school.

I used to take care of a cousin every once in a while when I was younger and I did some voluntary work with children during high school, but my first proper experience of child care is from the time I was an Au Pair before. My host family had three children. Sarah was 8, Raphael turned 6 the day after I got there and Nicklas had his first birthday a bit after month after I joined the family. Due to the age difference, the variety of things I helped with was obviously fairly large. With Sarah, the time we spent together consisted mostly of playing and going outside, but I also helped her to learn how to write and read properly. It was my duty to of course help her with her homework too and make sure that she did her school stuff. Raphael was still in kindergarten, so he didn't have many responsibilities yet. We played a lot together with him. I liked the two of them a lot even if they had some bad days, but I think I liked the time spent with Nicklas the absolute most. He was still very little, but that boy was fast. I had to make sure he didn't get himself hurt on a daily basis, but I of course changed his diapers, dressed him up, played with him, put him to sleep during nap time and made sure he got enough to drink and eat as well. I helped out with some housework during my stay as well.

I love spending time with children, because they can teach me so much, just like I can teach them. It's also nice to see the way they change as they grow up. Kids are treasures and I think it's amazing to get to be part of their lives. I like having responsibility and staying busy, so spending time with kids is obviously a great way to make that happen.

I already mentioned that I am not very likely to get homesickness for many reasons, which really is true. I knew that already before, but especially the time I spent as an Au Pair in Germany taught me that. It was during the pandemic so none of my friends or relatives got to visit me, nor could I visit them, but it was fine. I had enough tasks and things to keep me distracted. I spent a month with a German host family before too, when I was 16. It was my first big trip without anyone to company me, and despite my young age, being able to message my closed ones every once in a while was enough for me.
More ⇩

Experience

I've been an Au Pair once before, in southern Germany. I really enjoyed the experience and I knew I wanted to do it again sometime soon. My reasons for wanting to be an Au Pair again are the same they were the first time. I really like learning new skills and getting to know new cultures and people, but most of all, I like spending time with children. I think it's incredible to get to be part of that huge growing process they go through and to make memories with them. Knowing that I can make even a small difference in someone's life is amazing.

In all honesty, I first thought that I would like to go to Germany again, because I enjoyed my stay there so much, but I decided that I'd like to have this experience somewhere else this time. USA seemed like the right choice for many reasons. When my mother was my age, she was a huge fan of the United States. She has a lot of fond memories from there, which she has been telling me since I was little. I want to see what she saw in this country. The biggest reason why United States feels like the right choice for me is something else though. While staying in Germany as an Au Pair, I met someone, who became a very significant part of my life. He is studying in Minnesota and wants to stay there permanently. We became close friends and he spoke so fondly of the country, that I just knew that it'd have to be the USA for me. I have been a massive James Dean fan for a long time, and thanks to him, I've had my dream trip planned for years that I want to make happen when I'm in my mid 20's and it is a sort of an USA road trip, and I think time spent there as an Au Pair could help me out with modifying that plan a little, which is just another small reason why I find this particular country so interesting.
More ⇩

Personal information

Non-SmokerCan swim well - Yes

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Student

Education University

Language Knowledge

Finnish: Native Language, Since 19 Year/s
English: Mastery (C2), Since 11 Year/s
German: Upper intermediate (B2), Since 3 Year/s
Swedish: Intermediate (B1), Since 7 Year/s
Dutch: Elementary (A2), Since 6 Month

Sports  I enjoy a lot of sports. I like especially skiing, football and archery.

Religion No Religion

For the Au Pair religion is Not important

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems Only pollen allergy, for which I take antihistamine.

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred countries USA

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town, Village, Countryside

Duration of stay 10-12 months

Earliest starting date Jan 2022

Latest starting date Jun 2022

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 201 - 500

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 2

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Applicants.