Member ID 2602977

Nationality American | More ⇩

Full name Domenica

City/State Hillburn/ New York

Country USA

Start Jun 2023 - Jul 2023

Duration of stay 12-12 Months

Good knowledge of German (B1), English (Native)

Last action 6 days ago

Would you like to contact Domenica?

Join us if you don't have an account on
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Applicants.
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
Profile visited by 3 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
Answer Rate

Letter to the family

It's nice to meet you! I am Domenica, from New York, America. I am 26 years old. I studied German in college (but I am still learning) and I lived and studied in Heidelberg, DE for 5 months in 2018 where I first fell in love with Germany and German culture.
I love children! I have worked with children of all ages, in education, childcare, and even gardening. To me, nothing is more rewarding than to watch a child learn something new.
I am currently an Au Pair in Düsseldorf, DE and I adore the family I am with. If your family is quirky and funny we will get along well.
More ⇩


I have taken care of children of all ages, from 2 years old to 18 years old. I have worked with them in all different contexts. Growing up I was often the neighborhood babysitter and my first job was a daycamp counselor at 14 where we monitored at least 20 kindergartners/first graders, Monday through Friday.
While I volunteered on the farm, we often had large volunteer groups come and that sometimes meant they'd bring their children. I often was assigned to work with the children and it always brought me so much joy to see them learn about the Earth.
While I lived in Heidelberg, I was also extremely fortunate to have the chance to volunteer in the childcare section of the Patrick Henry Village Arrival Center for Baden-Württemberg where we volunteered twice a week to help socialize, educate, and offer emotional support to refugee children. The age ranges changed every week, and we had children from ages 2 to 16 attending with usually 10-15 kids attending. I personally saw to their education, and taught the children English, Spanish, and German using my own knowledge and workbooks. Quickly, my time spent volunteering there became the highlight of my semester abroad.
I also worked with incoming college freshmen in summer 2018 in a nationwide government-sponsored academic program, the Educational Opportunity Fund, where everyday I assisted 20+ students with social issues-based assignments, facilitated study groups, supported students after hours, and served as a college resource.
My most recent experience working with children was my time spent in an Americorps Year of Service last year at the Great Oaks Legacy Charter School in Newark, NJ at their Legacy Middle School. My role was a Fellow, or a Tutor, and I was an assistant teacher to 40+ students daily. I supported daily in-class and after school activities and provided individualized instruction to 10+ students weekly, children ages 10-13. I also created 40+ lesson plans over the school year.
As stated, I am currently an AP to a wonderful family in Düsseldorf. Their children are 8 and 11 and we get along wonderfully. My duties include tidying up the house, assisting children with German, Math, and English homework, playing with them, and assisting with mealtimes.
I am most confident and skilled working with children ages 8 and up. I adore babies and younger children but it has been a long time since I assisted in childcare with younger children.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Personal information

Are you fully vaccinated against Covid-19? - Yes
Non-SmokerCan swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license

Has siblings

Has a valid passport


Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Nanny, Teaching Assistant, Retail

Education College

Language Knowledge

English: Native Language, Since 24 Year/s
German: Intermediate (B1), Since 7 Year/s

Information about COVID-19

Were you infected with Covid-19?  Yes

If yes, when did you get infected?  May - 2022

Do you have the report of Covid-19 infection?  Yes

Are you fully vaccinated against Covid-19?  Yes

Name of Vaccine  Pfizer/BionTech

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred countries Austria

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town, Village, Countryside

Duration of stay 12-12 Months

Earliest starting date Jun 2023

Latest starting date Jul 2023

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 800 +

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 3

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

I am outgoing, confident, protective, I love to try new things, and I love to meet new people. I prefer to stay clean and tidy in my everyday life, and am often picking up after my family. In my free time, I like to read, listen to music and audiobooks, take walks, hike, and garden.