Member ID 1639074

Nationality Scottish | More ⇩

Full name Nina

City/State Inverness/ Inverness-shire

Country United Kingdom

Start Feb 2020 - Dec 2021

Duration of stay >1 year

Good knowledge of English (Native)

Last action 5 days ago

Would you like to contact this Au Pair?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
19
Profile visited by 19 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
65%
Answer Rate

Letter to the family

My name is Nina, I am a 23 year old fun, outgoing, kind and compassionate Scot looking for my first Au Pair experience.
I live in the stunning Highlands of Scotland, my house is actually 5 miles along the road from Loch Ness, home to the Loch Ness Monster.
I was raised in a small town 30 minutes north of where I currently live by my Mum and Dad, Valerie and Graham. I had a brilliant and very normal upbringing. Our family is working class and I’ve been instilled with my parents work ethics. I have one younger sister, who is now 19 years old and living in Edinburgh studying holistic sciences. Despite my parents now being separated we remain an extremely tight family unit. Family is extremely important to me. Growing up I was always a very outgoing and active child, my Dad would say fearless as I’d throw myself into anything without a second thought (I’m the same still). I was a combination of a sporty girl and a girly girl, this is something that’s never left me.. I get just as much enjoyment from getting dressed up and going shopping with my friends as I do putting on a pair of hiking boots and climbing a mountain.
I have been living with my best friend for about 2 years now and it taught me a lot about how to run a household and be independent. I was working in digital marketing but due to covid I was made redundant so I am now working in an office as an accounts assistant. I feel now is the right time (or at least once covid passes) to do this as although I enjoy my job it’s not the dream and I feel like losing my job has pointed me in the direction to revisit something I’ve always wanted to do...this!
My experience with children definitely started with my little sister coming into the world, or at least gave me a lot of practice. However it was always my intended career path. In High School I did my work experience in a nursery which I absolutely loved. From there I met a little boy with special needs, we bonded well and his Mother asked me if I would be his respite carer. I was 16 at the time and now at 23 I still take him on days out every 2nd weekend I’m order to give his parents some time with their other daughter. This little boy has angelman syndrome, which is a genetic disorder that causes developmental and neurological disabilities. Therefore despite being 14 years old he functions at around 18 months old. Despite not being able to express himself he is and has been a light in my life since I met him. Over the years we’ve gone on so many days out and experienced so many lovely memories together and I’ve become apart of him family. When I was in my final year of High School I volunteered at a local school for learning disabilities, and was completely in awe of the children and the teachers. The range of disabilities varied but the way the teaching staff and assistants treated these children was always with the upmost care and affection which inspired me massively. Upon leaving school I went to college to study to be an early years practitioner which was a combination of written and theory study and practical. For the practical aspect I was working in a nursery where the age was between 3-5. Then also working in the primary 1 class which was an age range of 5-6. I couldn’t say I enjoyed one more than the other as the nursery was more based on teaching the children to play where as primary 1 had a bit more education involved. As I was also studying it meant I was learning about the cognitive development of the children I was working with and having to watch their behaviours closely. I enjoyed this as I found mostly that they were hilarious, to see inside a pre school child’s mind would be a wonderful thing!
Things changed after college as I was offered a job for a successful construction company and I decided to give that a go as there was not an awful lot of jobs in childcare available in the small town I lived in. I have worked various office based jobs ever since but still work closely with the young boy with special needs. I’m also trained as a male up artist and work free lance doing wedding make up, I enjoy this as I love to be able to do things to make people feel good about themselves.
I think it’s fair to say I’ve had experience in various fields, catering, administrative, creative, child care and I even trained as a life guard. However I would say my main passion is working with children.
I’m very easy going but also extremely hard working. I enjoy the simple things in life and my main goal is just to have lived a fulfilled life and been happy while spreading light and positivity to the people around me.
I want to become an Au Pair as I feel it’s an incredible chance to visit another country while also being apart of a family and helping not only with the children’s growth but to be a helping hand around the home also. My younger sister is now grown up and moved out so I would love to be a big sister figure to your little ones. The main reason for my choice to apply to be an Au Pair is following this I’m looking to get back into child care full time and the experience gained from this is invaluable.
You should host me if you’re looking for someone reliable and responsible to care for your children. I can promise you their little lives, health and happiness would be my priority while living with you. I am a great cook and have no issue with preparing healthy home cooked meals for the whole family. It would also be my pleasure to assist with any household tasks and cleaning around the home. I’m a big believer that it’s hard to be productive in a messy home so I always keep my own home tidy in order to be as productive as possible . I have a full driving license and 5 years experience driving so I am a confident driver. Over the years I have various experience working with children, in professional settings and then I’m personal settings with the likes of by god children and friends children which I feel means I have a great balance of being serious when need be but also fun. With all the various experience I’ve had in different lines of work I feel I’ve gained a lot of knowledge on people and how they work and how to conduct myself around people. I believe in only putting good into the world, and will do do at any opportunity I can whether it be for family and friends or a stranger.
To round this off I would be honoured to even be considered to be a part of your family.
More ⇩

Experience

This would be my first experience as an Au Pair but I strongly feel it’s something I would completely fall in love with.
I’ve been working with children from a young age, and the opportunity to do so while seeing another part of the world is extremely exciting to me. The opportunity to learn about another part of the world and another way of life as well as being able to educate the children on my life and upbringing in Scotland is very special to me.
Family as I’ve said is very important to me, so to be picked to be apart of another family and trusted to be a part your children’s life and growth is a massive honour and very fulfilling. I feel as an Au Pair I would learn just as much as I can teach. As I’m a very compassionate person so the opportunity to be able to aid your family in any way I can and be a best friend to your child/children is such an exciting opportunity.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Personal information

Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes
Has a driver's license - Yes, with experience

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license Yes, with experience

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Administration

Education College

Basic knowledge of -

Sports  Engaged in many sports as a teenager; gymnastics, swimming, football (soccer), hockey, judo

Religion No Religion

For the Au Pair religion is Not important

Special diet considerations Gluten- free

Has health problems No

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town, Village, Countryside

Duration of stay >1 year

Earliest starting date Feb 2020

Latest starting date Dec 2021

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 201 - 500

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 5

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

Can teach subjects

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.