Member ID 1502249

Tutor for English

Nationality American | More ⇩

Full name Rachel

City/State Lancaster/ California

Country USA

Start Jan 2021 - Mar 2021

Duration of stay 10-12 months

Good knowledge of Ukrainian (B1), English (Native)

Last action 12 Days Ago

Would you like to contact this Au Pair?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, Log In to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
3
Profile visited by 3 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
NA
Answer Rate - Not Applicable

Letter to the family

My name is Rachel and I am 23 years old. I grew up in the southern part of California- about one hour outside of Los Angeles. I have two parents and I am the youngest of three. I grew up in a sports oriented family, so I started playing almost every sport I could manage to at age four. After some experimentation, I ended up falling in love with soccer and volleyball, and played at the youth, club and high school levels. When it was time for me to enter university, I chose to go to a junior college for my first two years and then transfer to a four year school- which I was able to do on a full scholarship for volleyball and a partial scholarship for academics. Playing sports my entire life gave me endless opportunities to coach and work with young athletes on teams, and in clubs and camps. Working with children and teaching hard work, diligence, self-confidence and teamwork has always been a passion of mine, and I carry the lessons I learned and taught through athletics with me in my professional and personal life.

Being an athlete and a coach also required a lot of travel, which helped me realize that I wanted to not just travel internationally, but also work and volunteer with children abroad. This led me to the Peace Corps. I applied to be a Peace Corps Volunteer in September of 2018 and was accepted to Peace Corps Ukraine in 2019. I am currently serving as a volunteer teacher in a small town in the Western part of Ukraine and have been for one year and six months. In my community I work with children ages 9-16 years old, both in the classroom and after school. This work has been the highlight of my life so far and that is greatly due to the amazing children I work with every single day. I would love to continue living abroad and working with children of any age.
More ⇩

Experience

I began babysitting regularly at an early age and quickly realized how much I enjoyed working with young children. This led me to my first volunteer position at the elementary school I attended growing up. This was the place where I first developed a passion for learning and developing relationships, and I loved being a part of that experience with these young kids. I created fun, interactive activities for them in the classroom, and then monitored their recess and free-time; which usually involved me running around on the black top, jumping rope, playing kickball or soccer, or playing hide-and-seek. In these small moments I began to understand how interesting, creative and fun kids are, especially when they are given a positive environment with the proper tools and support to realize their ideas and passions. I love being a part of this growth and development process, because while it may seem from an outsider perspective that I am the teacher and the child the student, we are all constantly learning from each other, regardless of age and experience.

My experiences being a nanny, working in an elementary school and coaching all led to my decision to become a volunteer teacher abroad. Working with these students, from various backgrounds, beliefs, religions, traditions, etc. has been one of the most gratifying experiences of my life. I have learned more as a teacher of these inspiring young people than I could have ever imagined. Even on the harder days, which we all have, I find it impossible not to smile when I am around these kids. Learning a new language is often difficult and can be frustrating, however the relationships I have developed with these students has made it easy to work as a team, and help each other through such difficult moments. I believe my overall experience has given me the skills to create a positive, fun, hard working environment for any number of children at any age.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

More ⇩

Personal information

Non-SmokerCan swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes
Has a driver's license - Yes, with experience

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license Yes, with experience

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Current occupation English Teacher

Education University

Basic knowledge of -

Sports  Soccer, Volleyball, Swimming, American Football, Baseball

Religion No Religion

For the Au Pair religion is Not important

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems N/A

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred area Big City

Duration of stay 10-12 months

Earliest starting date Jan 2021

Latest starting date Mar 2021

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 0 - 1 year old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 800 +

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 2

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

Can teach subjects English

To students of age group Primary school (6-12), Teenagers (13-17)

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.