Member ID 1473865

Nationality British | More ⇩

Full name Megan

City/State LONDON/ Londonderry

Country United Kingdom

Start Jun 2020 - Dec 2020

Duration of stay 10-12 months

Good knowledge of English (Native)

Last action 16 Jan 2020

Would you like to contact this Au Pair?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
0
Profile visited by 0 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
NA
Answer Rate - Not Applicable

Letter to the family

I am 23 years old, about to graduate from the University of Bath with a BSc(Hons) in Psychology.

I believe I would be a suitable candidate for this role as I have had previous experience working with children, both at home and in an educational environment. As a patient and sensible person, I believe my personality is very suited to working with children of all ages, and furthermore my professional demeanour makes me easy to work with on an employer-employee basis.

I like to think of myself as a creative individual, always searching for new ways to learn, develop and enjoy life, something I think is of utmost importance when it comes to caring for children.
More ⇩

Experience

Having worked at St Paul’s Cathedral School as a teaching assistant (September 2015-December 2015), I know how to engage with children both in conversation and activities. I learnt how to interact in a way that is stimulating and fun, but also promotes core principles in a relationship, such as respect. Being a Student Outreach Ambassador for the University of Bath has also provided me with invaluable experience of working with children of a range of ages, as well as contributing to student-focused publications and communications. Outreach Ambassadors work with students of all ages from year 6 (10-11 year olds) to year 13 (17- 18 year olds) and in all subject areas offered by the University of Bath. We work with schools and colleges that in many cases are from areas of relative deprivation or where participation in higher education is low. As part of this job I was expected to be a role model to students to help raise self-esteem, motivation and confidence to access higher education

I also have volunteered abroad with children, when I worked in Venezuela (January-March 2016), where I spent time teaching English to the local kids of the Playa Colorado Community. I was in charge of organising activities, for example recreating the ‘Carnivale’ by creating costumes for the children out of recycled flour bags. This not only demonstrates my imagination and passion when it comes to child-care, but also the variety of children I have worked with.

As a resident of the Wandsworth community, over the last five years I have babysat regularly for several local families, which has taught me importance of constant attention and care when it comes to children. Furthermore I have tutored for Kumon Maths and English Centre, and have also been a private tutor for a family in Chelsea for a number of weeks, so I understand the importance of education in child development (which has also been enhanced by my study of Psychology, where educational psychology and development comprises a large part of the subject.)

I have also worked with children with special needs and disability through my work as an Autism Research Assistant for the University of Bath, where I am inc charge of organizing regular activity days for the local children who participate in our research studies. Furthermore, I was a carer for a child with severe anxiety, a role which allowed me to develop insight into how best to help with such difficulties. These experiences have highlighted to me just how unique each child is in the way that they learn from and interact with and respond to the world.
More ⇩

Personal information

Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes
Has a driver's license - Yes, with experience

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license Yes, with experience

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Student

Education University

Basic knowledge of -

Sports  

Religion

For the Au Pair religion is Not important

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems No

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town

Duration of stay 10-12 months

Earliest starting date Jun 2020

Latest starting date Dec 2020

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 501 - 800

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 3

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

Can teach subjects

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.