Member ID 2190386

Can engage the kids in the following activities Homework Assistance, Book Reading, Art & Craft, Drawing & Cutting, Numbers & Counting, Letters & Sounds, Mind Games & Activity, Songs & Poetry

Tutor for Mathematics, English, French

Nationality English | More ⇩

Full name Emily

City/State Loughborough/ Leicestershire

Country United Kingdom

Start Oct 2023 - Dec 2023

Duration of stay 6-12 Months

Good knowledge of English (Native)

Last action 7 hours ago

Would you like to contact Emily?

Join us if you don't have an account on
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Applicants.
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
Profile visited by 6 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
Answer Rate

Letter to the family

Hi, my name is Emily and I am a 22 year old female from the middle of the UK. I have a 2:1 Bachelor of Arts Degree (with Honours) in Education with Psychology and Counselling. After graduating in June 2022, I worked my first Summer at Camp Wicosuta in New Hampshire as a Camp Mom. Upon returning to the UK in September, I got a job at a Student Accommodation residence where I am responsible for the administration, safety and wellbeing for over 200 University students. In May 2023 I will be departing to return to Camp Wicosuta and am seeking an Au Pair position abroad for the duration of October 2023 until June 2024.

I am confident and friendly, often chatting away or trying new things. I'm known for my loud voice and witty sense of humour. I am also extremely caring, I am the 'mum' to all my friends and take pretty much everybody under my wing as a younger sibling. Being a big sister forms a large part of my identity and personality, and I radiate what I call 'big sister energy' to everyone around me, I have a lot of love to give and I am not afraid to show it. I am passionate about personal growth and emotional intelligence, which means I am often acting as a mentor to those I connect with, especially the children I've been blessed enough to meet.

Children are so underestimated, I’m often in awe of them. Each child is individual, with their own unique talents and qualities. They are so inquisitive, resilient, intelligent and have the best imaginations. They are capable of so much more than they realise- and with the right encouragement and support, they can be unstoppable. I believe it’s an honour to help a child build knowledge and skills they'll use for the rest of their lives. I want them to know the importance of being open-minded, kind and self-aware; I want to help them understand, embrace and navigate their emotions. Children are the adults of the future, and I want to play my part in creating a generation that embraces differences instead of letting them divide us.

I have always been hugely passionate about language, culture and travel. The world is such an intriguing place, and I adore learning about the different ways that people live. I've loved learning languages, French and Spanish were my favourite subjects in school and I have been continuing my French practice daily on Duolingo for the past two years. I also am certified to teach English as a foreign language (TEFL).

Now, with a degree in Education (with Psychology and Counselling), and 4 extremely differing placement experiences in schools and a summer as a Camp Counselor with 7-9 year old girls, I’ve developed so many great skills- including counselling skills, emotional intelligence, organisation and adaptability. I’m a natural, strong leader, and always trying to make things fun and entertain. I’m extremely maternal, and care deeply. I don’t get easily stressed- I’m very calm and ‘roll with the punches’ in difficult situations.
More ⇩


My undergraduate degree is in Education with Psychology and Counselling; I’ve been able to take a variety of modules across all three disciplines. In counselling, notable modules I’ve taken are ‘Counselling Skills for Professional Practice’ and ‘Counselling Children and Young People’. I also took ‘Therapeutic Approaches to Wellbeing’ in my final semester. These modules have allowed me to develop and practice counselling and active listening skills which I can confidently say is one of my strengths. This, along with the ‘Emotional Literacy and Learning’ module, has given me a refined emotional intelligence and deep understanding of how to help children develop self-awareness and confidence as they learn to navigate complex emotions.

As I’ve taken 2 modules of ‘Developmental Psychology’, one of ‘Social Psychology’ and ‘The Psychology of Education’, I have a very thorough knowledge of the psychological theories of learning and childhood development theories, and I’m well educated on various learning impairments such as ADHD, autism and dyslexia.

I had the absolute pleasure of working at Camp Wicosuta in NH, USA in 2022 as a Camp Mom. This meant I was working all day every day with up to 20 young girls from the ages of 7 to 9, and I lived in a bunk with 5 of those kids. Being a camp counselor absolutely transformed my life and I grew so much during my time at camp. I learned that Firstly, kids will simply not respond to you unless you are confident in your decisions, actions and beliefs, and while I definitely did not feel this confidence right away, after not very long it became like second nature to me.

Being a camp counselor not only boosted my self-confidence, but I found my social confidence rocketing too. I made mistakes, I failed, I had bad days- and that was okay. I overcame it and learnt from it. I was silly and loud. I sang songs about turtles having babies and make the word ‘WOW’ using my hands and face. I dressed up as a banana and wore crazy hats and socks. I fell off of paddleboards and got surrendered to the counselor dunk tank. I also got to use my creative passion to choreograph two welcome show performances and a flash mob! I also wrote 5 song parodies which I've continued to do now, in preparation for camp next year (summer camp version of 'We Don't Talk About Bruno', anyone?).

I left Camp Wicosuta a better person than I arrived. I learned something new every single day, from as trivial as learning that I don’t like buffalo sauce to as vital as how to best support a child who is experiencing anxiety. While there was no way I could've already known all of the things I needed to before starting the job, I found myself learning how to be a camp counselor as I was doing it. And every single day I got better at it. This is why starting my journey as an Au Pair does not frighten me- because I know that I will learn and improve along the way. Camp gave me so many new skills and strengthened my old ones: negotiation, resilience, timekeeping, adaptability, leadership, and teamwork are just some of the most significant. Attached to my profile is a letter of recommendation from my supervisor at camp, Claire Morrison, who is herself a primary school teacher in Scotland.

I’ve also been on 2 fantastic placements in primary schools that allowed me to integrate theory and practice, as well as reflect on myself as a young professional and get some real on-the-job experience working with kids. I have been a Teaching Assistant in Years 2, 5 and 6, including an SEN school. This has allowed me to teach small groups of learners. Having taught students in Asia and Africa, I am enthusiastic about different languages and cultures. I have an A* GCSE in French and have continued to develop and practice my French language. I hope to learn about your culture, and teach you about mine.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

More ⇩


Recommendation Letter

Personal information

Are you fully vaccinated against Covid-19? - Yes
Non-SmokerCan swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes
Has a driver's license - Yes, with experience

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license Yes, with experience

Has siblings

Has a valid passport


Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Private Tutor and Camp Counselor

Education University

Language Knowledge

English: Native Language
French: Elementary (A2), Since 5 Year/s

Sports  Just general activities for enjoyment, I have no skill at any of them

Religion No Religion

For the Au Pair religion is Not important

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems I am intolerant to coconut milk but it's not a serious allergy.

Information about COVID-19

Were you infected with Covid-19?  No

Are you fully vaccinated against Covid-19?  Yes

Name of Vaccine  Pfizer/BionTech

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred countries Australia, Canada, New Zealand, USA & Fiji

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town, Village

Duration of stay 6-12 Months

Earliest starting date Oct 2023

Latest starting date Dec 2023

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 201 - 500

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 4

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

Can involve and engage the kids in these activities Homework Assistance, Book Reading, Art & Craft, Drawing & Cutting, Numbers & Counting, Letters & Sounds, Mind Games & Activity, Songs & Poetry

Can teach subjects Mathematics, English, French

To students of age group Preschoolers (4-5), Primary school (6-12), Teenagers (13-17), Young adults (18-30)

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Applicants.