Member ID 2606364

Nationality German, Colombian | More ⇩

Full name Sophia

City/State München/ Bavaria

Country Germany

Start Aug 2023 - Nov 2023

Duration of stay 4-12 Months

Good knowledge of Spanish (B2), English (C2), German (Native)

Last action 5 days ago

Would you like to contact Sophia?

Join us if you don't have an account on
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Applicants.
Profile added to the favorite list of 1 candidates in the last 3 weeks
Profile visited by 1 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
Answer Rate - Not Applicable

Letter to the family

Dear host family,

First of all want to thank you for taking the time to read my letter!

To give you a brief outline of who I am: My name is Sophia, and I am 17 years old. I consider my home to be Munich, which is a big city in the south of Germany since I’ve spent the majority of my life there. I did, however, spend some time throughout my childhood in Colombia, as my mother’s family still lives there.
I currently live with my father in an apartment in Munich, but I visit my mother’s apartment at least once a week, in which she lives together with my 19-year-old brother, our two kittens, and our bunny.
Education-wise, I attend the 12th grade of a so-called “Gymnasium” and will graduate in June with the “Abitur” (comparable with A-levels).
I aspire to study either architecture or biology at University one day, but for now, I prioritize gaining other experiences rather than attending a school again.

“Okay being alone but also a social butterfly, a reader, very mature for her age, caring, an artist, empathetic, ambitious, and very active” - I asked my closest friends and family members, which words or attributes first come to their mind when thinking of me and those were the most common answers.
And it’s true, I do love to read, and I do love to paint. I sketch and draw, and I have been doing it since I can remember talking.
I absolutely love to be amongst other people and make new friends, but I also value my alone time a lot.
While I don’t particularly enjoy being the sole center of attention, I enjoy being part of a group or a community.
I would also argue that I am quite independent and mature. My father works a lot, and as I just live with him, I have to take care of myself. I buy my own groceries, cook my own meals, and live independently in nearly every other aspect.
Another trait of mine I find essential to understand my personality and ambitions is my deep craving for traveling. But for me, the actual beauty of traveling is not in seeing as many places and sights in as little time as possible, but actually spending a good amount of time in one specific city or town. The goal is to experience real life in this place, and with that get to know their culture, their language, their food, and their lifestyle.

This, however, is not the only reason, I decided to be an Au Pair. In early 2022, I spend a week at a kindergarten as an intern. The group consisted of about 15 children, aged 3-5 years old. My task was to simply spend time with them and do the basic work of a kindergarten teacher. I enjoyed laughing, playing games, and running around the playground with the children, to the extent that I stayed longer than I had to. I already knew that I liked to spend time with children and babies, since I named myself the designated babysitter of all my cousins a long time ago, but the internship proved that I’d also be able to be with children for more than merely a few hours every month.

I hope this letter gave you a rough idea of how I am :)

Again thank you for reading my letter and kind regards,

More ⇩

Personal information

Are you fully vaccinated against Covid-19? - Yes
Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license

Has siblings

Has a valid passport


Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Student - High School

Education College

Language Knowledge

German: Native Language, Since 17 Year/s
Spanish: Upper intermediate (B2), Since 17 Year/s
English: Mastery (C2), Since 10 Year/s
French: Elementary (A2), Since 5 Year/s

Sports  im Fitnessstudio

Information about COVID-19

Were you infected with Covid-19?  No

Are you fully vaccinated against Covid-19?  Yes

Name of Vaccine  Pfizer/BionTech

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred countries Spain, USA, Argentina & Colombia

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town

Duration of stay 4-12 Months

Earliest starting date Aug 2023

Latest starting date Nov 2023

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 50 - 100

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 3

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with the mother

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

To students of age group

More ⇩