Member ID 1647438

Tutor for Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, English

Nationality Australian | More ⇩

Full name Gloria

City/State Madrid/ Madrid

Country Spain

Start Jan 2021 - Sep 2021

Duration of stay 10-12 months

Good knowledge of Spanish (C1), German (B1), English (Native)

Last action 15 days ago

Would you like to contact this Au Pair?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
5
Profile visited by 5 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
100%
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Letter to the family

Originally translated from Español
Hello, my name is Gloria and I am a 19 year old Australian student girl. In September 2019, I made the decision to move to Spain to continue studying classical dance, one of my greatest passions. Before that big change, I had spent my whole life living in Cooranbong, a medium-sized town on the east coast of Australia. Therefore, although I have spent this last year in Madrid Centro, I still consider myself a country girl and I have very fond memories of my family's pets (two goats!) And the dogs, cats and chickens of our neighbors and friends. .

Since I arrived in Spain, I have worked as an English teacher giving private lessons to children from 4 to 13 years old. I like the challenge of trying to make my classes fun and to pique the curiosity of my students so that they develop a real interest in learning the English language.

When I am with children, I love to laugh and have fun with them, and leave embarrassment at the door. Although I consider myself to be an independent and mature girl, I can still enjoy the most ridiculous and simple games! Nor have I lost my taste for climbing trees, riding swings and things like that.

I can say with certainty that I have an adventurous spirit. I especially love adventures related to nature, such as mountain hikes, rappelling, and cave exploration. It would be hard for me to find a better way to spend a weekend than to go camping in a quiet place with good company.

Being an Au Pair seems to me a unique and enriching way of being able to survive economically as a young foreigner in this country. I have largely become financially independent from my parents, and at the moment I am covering my expenses with the work I do as an English teacher. I am contemplating making the change to being an Au Pair mainly for the opportunity to share with a family in an environment a little away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

I understand that being an Au Pair requires availability and dedication to work the required number of hours. So I see that I would have to drop most, if not all, of the English classes that I currently teach. However, as I have mentioned I am studying ballet and this involves going to classes from Monday to Friday in central Madrid, ending at 3:00 pm or a little earlier depending on the day. This means that I would only have availability in the evenings and on weekends to do the Au Pair tasks. I'd like to be more flexible, but these hours of availability are something to consider.
More ⇩

Experience

Originally translated from Español
Although I have not had an official position as a babysitter before, I have had a fair amount of contact with children and have generally loved it.

My main and earliest contact with children has been with my little sister, my youngest for 3 and a half years. She is old enough, but in my earliest years of life I started to gain experience caring for people younger than me thanks to the experiences I shared with her.

At my school, we had a 'buddies' (classmates or friends) program among sixth grade students and the youngest kindergarten students (ages 5 and 6). Even though that was over six years ago, I still kept in touch with my 'buddy' from time to time until I moved out of the country. In my dance school, I also often helped with classes for preschool ages, 2-5 years. I enjoyed the opportunity to take on the leadership role with them, and I loved seeing how, as time passed, the little ones developed more trust with me.

On several occasions, I have babysat for friends and family and I believe that I have always been able to develop a good rapport with them.

However, I think it has been in the last year that I have gained more experience caring for and teaching children through English classes. I currently teach 11 children between the ages of 5 and 11. Each one is unique and I appreciate how I have a slightly different way of relating to each one of them.

I believe that being an Au Pair would offer me a unique opportunity to share in depth with a family from a different culture so that both I and they can experience new experiences and learn new things.
More ⇩

Personal information

Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes
Has a driver's license - Yes, with experience

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license Yes, with experience

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Student

Education Secondary School

Basic knowledge of -

Sports  Dancing, walking, hiking, cycling, swimming

Religion Christian

For the Au Pair religion is Important

Special diet considerations Vegetarian

Has health problems No

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred area Town, Village, Countryside

Duration of stay 10-12 months

Earliest starting date Jan 2021

Latest starting date Sep 2021

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 10 - 50

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 2

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

Can teach subjects Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, English

To students of age group Preschoolers (4-5), Primary school (6-12)

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.