Member ID 2086285

Nationality Ugandan | More ⇩

Full name Vanda

City/State Woodbridge/ Virginia

Country USA

Start Mar 2023 - Apr 2023

Duration of stay 12-18 Months

Good knowledge of English (C1), Spanish (B1), Portuguese (Native), Afrikaans (Native)

Last action 4 days ago

Would you like to contact Vanda?

Join us if you don't have an account on
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Applicants.
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
Profile visited by 0 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Letter to the family

My name is Vanda Shelcia Orlando , I 22years old from Mozambique.

I live with my mother (Nasta 45years) single mom, my dad died when I was 17, my 3 siblings ( José 24yrs, Nicole 15yrs and Kayana 11yrs). We are very close to each other and always cheer for the success of each other, they are my safe haven and my greatest source of love and inspiration. My mother always taught me to love others, help those who need and always be grateful,respectful and thankful.want to become an Au Pair, because I love kids and I like to spend my time with them. Also, because I think the program is the perfect mix of living a different culture and have new challenges. With the Au Pair program I will have opportunity to learn about a different culture, different people,improve my english,to learn a lot,travel,take courses related to my dream profession which is jornalismo so that when I come back I can work with that like the most combined with my degree and have a unique experience living in the United States that I always wanted to know. I never leave my country, and I believe the Exchange its a great opportunity for learn a lot.

The family must welcome me because for me my biggest priority will be to care of the children and help in their development and because I'm responsible.

I know that's not easy for the parents to make the decision to choose the best au pair to take care of their children, that carries a great responsibility and I have that since I have 2 young sister's that depends on me. I know that I don't have to be panic in difficult situations because I'm the adult in charge who has to act quickly and make the right decision and I'll always try to solve the problems with the host family. Communication is a key in order to avoid difficult situations and misunderstanding and I always choose discipline and respect
More ⇩


My experience with children started very early as I took care of my sisters (Nicole, Kayana) since at that time my mother worked and did not have enough money to pay for a nany or babysitter.Every day I would wake up earlier and pack them, feed them, put some snacks in their backpacks and take them to school, then later I would go to school and my brother would return with them from school, that was our daily routine.
A few years later I started working as a nanny for a child Vicente who at the time was 1 year and 6 months I have made 1440 hours with him for 9 months. I was responsible for playing with him, bathing him, feeding him, listening to his stories, helping with the bedtime, making crafts, taking him to the park, changing diapers and taking him to the nursery, preparing his meals and putting him on. stop sleeping, make the bed and make his laundry, help until the parents get home Nothing is new for me as I have always taken care of my sisters from a very early age, but with this experience I learned to be very patient with children and to be responsible as they demand a lot from an adult and depend on someone, i always had a good relationship with my child and always tried to keep her busy with educational games to keep her away from electronics, . During the weekends did extra work with another child I took care of d Giovanni who at the time was one year old,for 3 moths and I made 192 hours with him. Isince it was only on weekends, my job was basically to take Giovanni out to play, because his parents worked during the weekends. was responsible change his diaperss whenever necessary, feed him, bathe him and prepare him the parks, playing with him, taking him to walks, take him to playgrounds, museums and zoos. all the experiences I had were very good, so much so that I continue to have a good relationship with my former employers
More ⇩

Additional pictures


Personal information

Are you fully vaccinated against Covid-19? - Yes
Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license

Has siblings

Has a valid passport


Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Atendente

Education Secondary School

Language Knowledge

Portuguese: Native Language
English: Advanced (C1), Since 3 Year/s
Afrikaans: Native Language
Spanish: Intermediate (B1)

Sports  Football

Religion Christian

For the Au Pair religion is Important

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems Não

Information about COVID-19

Were you infected with Covid-19?  No

Are you fully vaccinated against Covid-19?  Yes

Name of Vaccine  Oxford/AstraZeneca

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - No

Preferred countries Australia, Germany, Ireland, Switzerland & USA

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town

Duration of stay 12-18 Months

Earliest starting date Mar 2023

Latest starting date Apr 2023

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 800 +

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 3

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Applicants.