Member ID 2526766

Nationality Swedish, American | More ⇩

Full name Electra

City/State Mount Kisco/ New York

Country USA

Start Aug 2023 - Sep 2023

Duration of stay 10-12 Months

Good knowledge of English (Native), Swedish (Native)

Last action 14 hours ago

Would you like to contact Electra?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Applicants.
2
Profile added to the favorite list of 2 candidates in the last 3 weeks
24
Profile visited by 24 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
72%
Answer Rate

Letter to the family

Hi! My name is Electra. I’m 19 years old turning 20 in august. All my life I’ve always loved being around kids, playing and being creative. I have a very positive attitude to life and love exploring. Spring of 2022 I was a dance teacher for children 3-9 years old. I have a lot of energy myself and love to laugh. I am currently living in New York and working as a part time babysitter.

Background:
I come from a family with 3 kids, I’m the oldest. My siblings are 5 and 9 years younger than me, which means that I have babysat them a lot growing up.

I went to high school in Sweden and studied music and science. I’ve been vocally trained since I was 6 years old. I also play a lot of instruments such as: Violin, guitar, piano, drums and the base.

I would love to be an au pair because I love to see other cultures and experience through children’s eyes. All children are special and different, which I find is so admirable about them. What I love about children is that they are curious about everything. I myself love being curious and learning new things.

I am a very easygoing person and very flexible. Life with kids can some times be hard to plan, but I have no problem changing plans last minute. I love being creative with kids and talk to them about their thoughts and feelings.

As a babysitter it’s important for me to see that every child is different and that they have different needs. It’s also very important for me that they know that their feelings are valid, and that I am here to listen to them and acknowledge them for who they are.

For me it’s very important that I speak to them like they are people, not to neglect them because they are children. Some parenting styles talk to children like they are animals (I’m referring to the terminology “good boy” and “good girl”). This teaches the children that their worth is in their accomplishments, which I do not agree with at all. Teaching them that it’s safe to express their feelings with me is something that is crucial to me.

I am a very patient person and don’t easily get mad. With kids things happens and it’s important to have your boundaries, but what’s more important is how you present them. Yelling and throwing you’re hands in the air is not going to make children feel safe and calm, but rather scared. Instead of yelling I like to talk to them calmly about what happened, and at the same time express that I still care for them and that they still are important to me and reassuring them that we are still best friends.
More ⇩

Experience

I would like to become an au pair because I love spending time with children. I have experience in babysitting and being around smaller but also older kids. I am currently a babysitter to a 3 year old girl and she is the best thing that has ever happened to me. Her zest for life is very admirable and something everyone should look up too. With her I do all sorts of things from taking her to activities to staying at home and playing with play dough.

I want to travel the world and see new cultures and learn new languages, and because I love kids au pair seems like the perfect fit for me.
More ⇩

Personal information

Are you fully vaccinated against Covid-19? - Yes
Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Babysitter

Education Other

Language Knowledge

English: Native Language, Since 19 Year/s
Swedish: Native Language, Since 19 Year/s
Spanish: Beginner (A1), Since 4 Year/s

Sports  Dancing, Soccer

Information about COVID-19

Were you infected with Covid-19?  No

Are you fully vaccinated against Covid-19?  Yes

Name of Vaccine  Pfizer/BionTech

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - No

Preferred countries Italy, Portugal, Germany, Iceland & Switzerland

Preferred area Big City, Town

Duration of stay 10-12 Months

Earliest starting date Aug 2023

Latest starting date Sep 2023

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 100 - 200

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 2

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with the mother

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

I’m and a positive, patient and happy person. Laughing is so important to me and I really enjoy making jokes and laughing with people around me. I love music, dancing, cooking and baking. When it comes to cooking and baking I love cooking Asian food and baking Swedish desserts. I also have an interest in history and childbirth. After being an au pair I would love to work with music but also work as a midwife delivering babies.