Member ID 1275603

Nationality British | More ⇩

Full name Iona

City/State Newark/ Nottinghamshire

Country United Kingdom

Start Jun 2020 - Jul 2020

Duration of stay 1-3 months

Good knowledge of English (Native)

Last action 27 Days Ago

Would you like to contact this Au Pair?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, Log In to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.
2
Profile added to the favorite list of 2 candidates in the last 3 weeks
9
Profile visited by 9 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
30%
Answer Rate

Letter to the family

Dear host family,

My name is Iona , I will be 19 years old in June. I am the second oldest out of four kids, therefore I have always been surrounded by kids growing up. Having two younger siblings has definitely taught me how to take care of children and has also influenced my love for caring for children. My dad works, and my mum has been a stay at home mother/ artist for the past 10ish years. My older brother is in his final year at University, and my younger two siblings will be going into year 12 and year 9 this September.

At the minute I am an undergraduate student at the University of Edinburgh, I am doing a MA in Business with Marketing, and in May I will have completed my first year at university. I am British, my dad is from Scotland, and my mum is half English and Native American. Before attending university in Edinburgh I lived in the U.S. for five years with my family due to my dads job. We moved to New Jersey/New York at the end of 2013 and then moved to Chicago for four years at the end of 2014. I attended an international British high school when I lived in Chicago, and completed IGCSE's and the International Bac.

Since the age of 10 I have been learning french thus I have quite a basic level of French. By becoming an au pair nanny I hope to become fluent in French or another language as I think it is important to know more than one language. Thus, I'd hope that working with a family abroad they could help me learn their native language and vice versa with my native language - English. In addition, I am willing to tutor your children in subject specific areas if need be.

I can clean, cook and do general house keeping if needed, on top of childcare. However, one thing I cannot do as of yet is drive. However I am capable of getting public transport, walking and biking. Furthermore, I can swim thus you can expect me to watch your children in the pool and at the beach during the summer.
More ⇩

Experience

Although I professionally started babysitting at the age of 13, my experience in childcare started from a very young age as my older brother and I would often help my mum and dad with our younger two siblings.

Over the last five years I have babysat for seven families. I have babysat for families with four kids to families with one child. The ages of the children I have babysat for range from 1-14.

I love spending time with children. In particular I love watching the imagination and creation that children implement into their childhood and play. It's fun and exciting to get involved in making up games and seeing where the children's minds take them.

I am capable to looking after babies as I have experience in changing nappies and feeding babies. I am also capable of looking after children who are older, I can cook and I like to bake also. I know how to wash dishes, use a dish washer, washing machine and tumble dryers.

In addition to becoming fluent or learning another language, I would like to learn about the culture that your family lives in as well as sharing my own cultural ideals and teaching english to your children. I want to be an au pair to learn essential skills that I can use in the future when I have my own kids.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Personal information

Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Current occupation Sales Clerk

Education University

Basic knowledge of French (A1)

Sports  Athletics and football

Religion No Religion

For the Au Pair religion is Not important

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems No

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town

Duration of stay 1-3 months

Earliest starting date Jun 2020

Latest starting date Jul 2020

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 100 - 200

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 4

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

Can teach subjects

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.