Member ID 1286022

Nationality American | More ⇩

Full name kappy

City/State Newport Beach/ California

Country USA

Start Oct 2019 - Dec 2019

Duration of stay 4-6 months

Good knowledge of English (Native)

Last action 7 Days Ago

Would you like to contact this Au Pair?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, Log In to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
1
Profile visited by 1 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
0%
Answer Rate

Letter to the family

Dear Family!!
It's so hard to really get a gage for who someone is via the internet but I will do my best to paint the picture pretty clear! My name is Kappy, and I am from orange county California. I am 22 years old, and currently living at home with my parents (paying rent) and working as a stewardess/deckhand on a charter yacht. I completed 3 years of college at the University of Oregon studying art and fibers, but came home early because I needed a break. I found out that school isn’t really my jam. Now, I am just trying to figure out how to move forward and what I want to do next. Finishing college isn’t out of the picture entirely, but for now I need to focus on doing what makes me happy and feel successful in everyday life.
I belong to a family of 6:
Mom, Dad, my sisters: Sally (24) and Seneca (20), and my doggy Beau (12).
In terms of where I am from (Newport Beach), I feel like I had a fairly different upbringing than a lot of people who grew up around me. Newport Beach is a bit of a bubble, but my parents were very good about painting a picture of the rest of the world. If I was to pick just a few values my parents instilled in me they would be, humility, frugality, humor, love, and community. They also gave me the travel bug. I grew up going to so many cool and exotic places. Off the beaten path and back roads were my parents forte. I’ve traveled to Honduras, Panama, Belize, Mexico, Canada, Morocco, Kenya, Rwanda, the south of France, England, Spain, Vietnam, and Cambodia. When I was in 3rd grade my parents took my sisters and I out of school for the year and we took off on our boat and cruised the coast of Mexico for 9 months. One of the coolest and craziest experiences that I wouldn’t trade for anything in the world. I hope that I am able to do something like that with my family one day.
I grew up around boats and started sailing as a wee little thing, then I was on the varsity sailing team in high school, and still continue to sail and work on boats. My current job is one of the coolest jobs ever. I work on a custom 92 ft powerboat called the Nordic Star as a deckhand and stewardess. We have 3 full time crew on the boat including myself and we are like our own little family! It is such a fun work environment especially because we are all on the same page. We have so much fun and do a lot of messing around at work when appropriate, but at the same time we are extremely professional and work extremely hard. We take the boat out for charters with guests aboard for trips to Catalina, the Chanel islands, and Santa Barbara. This job has taught me how to be a very good hostess and housekeeper!
My mom, sisters, and I are all very artistic in many ways. I started out in oil painting classes and from there on I thought myself how to do pretty much everything. I do watercolor, charcoal, graphite, pastel, ink, screen printing, block printing, digital art, natural fiber dyeing (including indigo), and embroidery. I also think cooking fits well into the creative and artistic category. My mom, my great aunt, and my grandma, and my neighbors growing up have all given me a love for cooking and being in the kitchen! I grew up with the value of community given to me from my family and close neighbors. In the summers we have big dinners we call Sunday Suppers with our family and friends, and cooking and good food is a huge part of this. We continue this through the year in other ways as well.

I have had a lot of experience with baby sitting. I started before I could even drive. I’ve babysat for kids from ages 3months- 14yrs old. It’s very easy for me to connect with kids because I love to get on their level, play and act goofy. I love taking kiddos to do things outside of the house such as the beach, park, etc., but I also love spending the day at home coloring, playing with toys, dancing, you name it! I am such a loving person and this is something that you will learn about me if you hire me. I think finding the right person to care for your child is extremely important because kids are so impressionable. I take that fact very seriously when I am taking care of kids, and thats why I understand the importance of my role and responsibilities. I'm a healthy balance of an easy going, and assertive when needed. I listen to both the kids and the parents needs.
I would love to be an au pair abroad because
-I love kids LOVE kids, and have so much fun with them
-I love creating new relationships and bonds with people
-I would love the opportunity to travel around and new place and experience the culture
Honestly, I love the idea of becoming a part of another family and creating relationships in different parts of the world. I am kind of shy and nervous right at first but what you will come to know about me is not that and I will come out of my shell very quickly. I am a people person for sure and think that I wont have any trouble fitting into a new family and their way of life!
I look forward to meeting you and your little nuggets!
More ⇩

Experience

More ⇩

Additional pictures

Personal information

Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes
Has a driver's license - Yes, with experience

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license Yes, with experience

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Current occupation yacht stewardess/deckhand

Education University

Basic knowledge of -

Sports  sailing, swimming

Religion

For the Au Pair religion is

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems No

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town, Village, Countryside

Duration of stay 4-6 months

Earliest starting date Oct 2019

Latest starting date Dec 2019

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 100 - 200

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 4

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

Can teach subjects

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.