Member ID 1792444

Nationality Canadian | More ⇩

Full name Claudia

City/State Ottawa/ Ontario

Country Canada

Start Jul 2021 - Feb 2022

Duration of stay 7-9 months

Good knowledge of Italian (B1), English (Native)

Last action 6 days ago

Would you like to contact Claudia?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Applicants.
2
Profile added to the favorite list of 2 candidates in the last 3 weeks
5
Profile visited by 5 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
34%
Answer Rate

Letter to the family

Hello! My name is Claudia , I am 22 years old and a new University graduate. I completed an honours bachelors of social sciences in Women’s and Gender studies with a minor in Italian Language and Culture.
I am an Italian-Canadian, I have dual citizenship and an Italian passport. I'm born in Canada and inherited the dual citizenship since my father was born in Italy.
Throughout my degree I have volunteered and worked with different groups of children.
I volunteered with Orkidstra, a music program for kids ages ranging from 4-18. I mentored beginner flute students a couple of times a week in person and via Zoom. I also prepared snacks and monitored children when they had their breaks. I have also volunteered at schools and daycares. And I have worked at a Play and Learn centre whereI supervised children.
I am a quiet, assertive person who is clean and is someone who can fulfills needs persistently. I have worked with different types of kids since my teen years and I am able to handle watching kids on my own.

History With Children Below:

Volunteer- Orkidstra Music Program
September 2017-June 2021
1-3 times per week (3-6 hours/week)

Duties
• Dealt with children of various backgrounds and from under-served communities who have faced issues and who had learning disabilities
• Helping children learn music, teaching the kids techniques on playing the flute, helping them practice music, setting up chairs and music stands for practice sessions virtually and via zoom
• Prepping snacks and drinks for the kids frequently
• Signing the children in and out for their music classes
• Monitoring the children when they have breaks
• Zoom manager: tracking attendance via Google Sheets and organizing students in the right breakout rooms for their lessons. I also talk to the students who are waiting in the waiting room for their lessons.
• Writing down notes in the students’ practice logs/agendas on what they need to practice for the following week such a scales, warm-ups, end pieces and music theory

Customer Service Representative Monkey Around Play and Learn Centre
November 2017 - September 2018
1-4 times per week (6-15 hours)

• Dealt with feedback provided by the children's guardians and acted in a professional manner when dealing with questions or complaints regarding children’s safety and contentment
• Present at the redemption ticket counter for prizes for the kids and collecting tokens from arcade games, ensuring that the children’s prizes were fairly distributed
• Fixing arcade games and refilling tickets in them
• Monitoring and supervising the children, greeting the children and their guardians
• Answered the phone calls from customers or fellow employees and actioned the requests accordingly
• Ensured high quality standards by partaking in cleaning and taking proper safety measures, to ensure no child was sick or physically hurt. For example, Monkey Around had a roller skate rink where I would help children tie their roller rink laces and get their proper sizes to prevent them from falling or getting hurt. There would be a maximum of how many kids on the rink.
• The same rules applied for the jumper, there had to be a max of a certain amount of kids on there and rules such as socks and no flips and aggressive play or objects on the jumper.
• Acted as a party host, where children would have birthday parties I would serve them pizza and snacks and cake to each child. I would also participate in doing face painting on the children and doing other crafts with them.
• Assisted in the training and orienting of new employees to adhere to the company’s policies

Volunteer Tiny Hoppers Daycare
July 2012-August 2012
Once or twice a week for full day or morning until noon

• Supervised children inside and outside of the classroom. These circumstances involved at parks and the play yard outside of the daycare.
• I would supervise the children to ensure they were playing fairly, sharing and not leaving anybody out.
• Helped students with arts and crafts.


This was one of my first experiences of being one-on-one with children. Through this opportunity, I learned how to interact with young kids under the age of 6. I also learned how to take on the role as an authority figure while the real teacher was not present by using a firm voice and being assertive to the children in order for them to start to listen. This would help me as a teacher, as it allowed me to work on my confidence in front of children and become more comfortable asserting myself and ensuring children were listening to me.

Volunteer Italian Saturday School Laurier-Carrière Catholic Elementary School
September 2013-January 2014
Once a week on Saturday mornings (9:00-12:30)

Duties
• Helped junior and senior kindergarten students learn Italian language and culture though assisting them to learn orally, in writing and reading in Italian.
• Supervised children when the teacher was out of the classroom.
• Supervised children when they had their 15-minute recess.
• Helped the students to sing along to songs.
• Helped students with arts and crafts.
• Helped students in class with their homework by sitting down with students who raised their hand and needed help.I learned that when children are put into a second or third language school, they think more and try to speak the language more to communicate with the teacher and other students.

I was taught the importance of learning a language that connects to the student’s own heritage. It is also important to learn the language your parents speak or grandparents in order to communicate with them.

This is beneficial to me as a teacher and my development in this procession, as Canada, specifically Ottawa requires students to learn a second language, either French or English depending on the school and board. This opportunity allowed me to understand the importance of a second (or third language) and gave me the chance to witness how a variety of students (whether differently aged or learning levels) were able to learn Italian.

Tutoring
September 2020-April 2021
Once a week for 1-2 hours

Duties
Helped a grade 1 student learn English literacy, which involved reading out loud and writing.
This student had a learning disability in English and oral skills.

I went step by step to teach them how to sound out words, syllables, and speak by reading from a text. We also practiced printing skills and would write mini summaries on what each text/book was about. We also used a children's dictionary to look up and write into the student’s personal dictionary.

Relevance
I had gained the experience of working with a child individually rather than a group. After working with a child individually, I see the difference when children learn and grasp alone with a teacher versus in a room full of students/classroom with a teacher. For some students having a private tutor can be beneficial as they may not have absorbed everything taught in class. This has allowed me to understand the potential needs of each student and remind me that as a teacher, I might have to hone in on specific skills and adapt to a child’s needs when it comes to their learning.
More ⇩

Experience

Hello! I have been volunteering with children in a music program since 2017, I’ve also worked at a play and learn centre for a year and have tutored and babysat since my teen years. I have different experience with all kinds of ages and backgrounds of children. I am hoping to be an Au pair as it is a great opportunity to learn and improve on my language skills, and learn about a culture of a new country. I’ve always wanted to do this after I graduate university to have an experience that I will never forget. It’s also a beautiful thing to meet new people around the works and create great relationships with them.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Personal information

Non-SmokerCan swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes
Has a driver's license - Yes, no experience

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Student - Social Science

Education University

Language Knowledge

English: Native Language
Italian: Intermediate (B1)
French: Elementary (A2)

Religion Catholic

For the Au Pair religion is

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems No

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred countries France & Italy

Preferred area Big City, Town, Village

Duration of stay 7-9 months

Earliest starting date Jul 2021

Latest starting date Feb 2022

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 50 - 100

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 2

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Applicants.