Member ID 1597617

Nationality South-African | More ⇩

Full name Ihanté

City/State Oudtshoorn/Western Cape

Country South Africa

Start Dec 2020 - Jun 2021

Duration of stay 10-12 months

Good knowledge of Afrikaans (Native), English (Native)

Last action 2 days ago

Would you like to contact this Au Pair?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.
1
Profile added to the favorite list of 1 candidates in the last 3 weeks
25
Profile visited by 25 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
100%
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Letter to the family

My name is Ihanté but all my friends call me Ian.

I'm at a point in my life where I have an unfaltering sense of curiosity about the world and a deep desire to know and care for those around me. It has led me to this website.

I want experiences, I want to be happy and breathe the air of different countries. I want to enjoy my life whilst still helping others and being a part of something. Becoming an au pair would allow me to do just that.

I've always gotten on very well with children and it's safe to say I'm a different person around them. I just have such a soft spot in my heart for animals and kids.

It only takes about a few hours for little ones to warm up to me and then we're pals for life. I can easily match them in energy, enthusiasm and energy.

Every child deserves a good childhood and being able to not only share but also create those intregal moments that will always be remembered, is a huge responsibility and honour. Should I have the pleasure of joining your family, your kids won't just be able to count on me to be there for them. I hope they can find a friend in me as well. As for the parents, I hope you realize my duty is to make your life a little easier so the same applies to you.

I like things tidy so I'm good at clean-up. I'm also a excellent person to have by your side in high tension situations because I have the ability to stay calm and think clearly. (I'm usually the one in a screaming room of people reminding everyone to breathe.)

I'm kind, honest and communication is very important to me. I can be firm when necessary but prefer taking the position of someone who will listen and try to understand. I should think these are all important qualities in this field. I've also been told I'm quite the cook and love to explore new dishes.
More ⇩

Experience

I have a very big family so I have experience babysitting a few nephews and nieces. That covers everything from changing diapers, fixing up snacks, clean up and playing games with them. I also know how to discipline a child though I don't believe in spanking or punishment. I'd rather have them understand why what they did was wrong than pushing them through fear into obedience. I was also part Inkwenkwezi, a society that would visit a specific kindergarten, we spent time playing word games with the children and reading to them.

As stated above, I love children and I love travelling. But to me, it's not just about that. It's about the people I'll meet, the new food I'll try, the connections I'll forge and about seeing the sunset and sunrise in as many places as possible. It's knowing that a kid will think back and be able to smile. I'd really just like to experience as much life as possible, caring for people and learning about the world around me seems like the best way to do it.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

More ⇩

Personal information

Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes
Has a driver's license - Yes, no experience

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Au Pair

Education Secondary School

Basic knowledge of German (A1)

Sports  Netball, briefly.

Religion No Religion

For the Au Pair religion is Not important

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems Mild allergies to bananas, watermelon and avocado. I still eat the last two.

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town, Village, Countryside

Duration of stay 10-12 months

Earliest starting date Dec 2020

Latest starting date Jun 2021

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 100 - 200

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 3

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

Can teach subjects

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.