Member ID 1675032

Tutor for Biology, English, Italian

Nationality English | More ⇩

Full name Maura

City/State Portland/ Maine

Country USA

Start May 2021 - Sep 2021

Duration of stay 10-12 months

Good knowledge of English (Native)

Last action 14 days ago

Would you like to contact this Au Pair?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
4
Profile visited by 4 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
0%
Answer Rate

Letter to the family

23 y.o. I currently live in a small city in the state of Maine in the United States. I have just graduated from my university this spring with a degree in Botany and Studio Art. My native language is English, and I have experience with Italian from my time as a intern on a farm in Italy, as well as Spanish from middle school and high school. At some point, I would like to become fluent in both French and Italian, but am open to learning any new language!

I currently work as a waiter in a local restaurant and at a plant nursery as a greenhouse assistant. In the past few years, I have worked as a chef apprentice, caretaker, and farm hand.

I am a creative person interested in a life of continuous learning. I'm also a hard-working and detail oriented individual, who is always passionate in the work that they're doing. I would also describe myself as a caring, loyal, and bubbly person, who likes to make new connections and friends. Family and community are very important to me!

My interests include sustainable agriculture, visual art, languages, feminism, and the culinary arts. In my spare time, I like to read, watch films, hangout with friends, explore a city, spend time in nature, paint, cook, and make pottery. I especially love to immerse myself into new cultures, become a part of a community and am always excited to learn new languages

In a few years, I plan to get my MFA in studio art in hopes to become an art professor. In the meantime, I want to explore new cities and experience their cultures.
More ⇩

Experience

I am interested in finding a family to be an au pair, and hopefully, an big sister for. I am used to a very close family culture with lots of quality time and meals spent together. I have two loving parents, a lawyer and a nurse, one older sister who is currently studying in graduate school, and many pets.

I want to become an au pair because I enjoy spending time with children and seeing them learn, grow, and become themselves. When it comes to childcare experience, I spent many summers as a babysitter for various families growing up. As a babysitter, I cared for children ages 6-12 and spent the day or evenings with them while their parents were away or at work. Mostly I would cook, entertain, and put them to bed. It was always important to me to bring the children on adventures and go on exciting excursions.

I spent one summer as a live-in caretaker for an elderly women, who lived alone on an island off the coast of Maine. I spent the evenings there to comfort, entertain, and cook for her as well as to take care of her home and poodle. I also have experience tutoring biology to underclassmen during my years at college.My last experience with children was this summer when I led my 13 year old cousin on a month long hiking trip in Vermont!

I am an independent and adaptable individual, looking to help you and your family in any way. I can help with the cooking and cleaning.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Personal information

Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes
Has a driver's license - Yes, with experience

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license Yes, with experience

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Waiter/Waitress

Education University

Basic knowledge of Italian (A1)

Sports  Ice hockey, field hockey and lacrosse

Religion No Religion

For the Au Pair religion is Not important

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems No

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred area Big City

Duration of stay 10-12 months

Earliest starting date May 2021

Latest starting date Sep 2021

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 201 - 500

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 2

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with the mother

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

Can teach subjects Biology, English, Italian

To students of age group Preschoolers (4-5), Primary school (6-12), Teenagers (13-17)

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.