Member ID 1797885

Nationality American | More ⇩

Full name Jamia

City/State Rochester/ New York

Country USA

Start Aug 2021 - Sep 2021

Duration of stay >1 year

Good knowledge of English (Native)

Last action 3 days ago

Would you like to contact Jamia?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Applicants.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
8
Profile visited by 8 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
0%
Answer Rate

Letter to the family

Hello Future Host Family,

My name is Jamia "Mia" , and I want to be your au pair! I am currently a senior at the University of Rochester in Rochester, New York. I have known for many years now that I wanted to go to the UK and be an au pair. I want to go because I really love working with children and also because I am fascinated by your country. I'm actually planning to visit the UK this June, so I'm very excited to experience the UK for myself.

I have always traveled a lot with my family for vacations, but I also spent two semesters (fall '19 and summer '18) in St. Petersburg, Russia to study abroad! Although I have loved my experiences in Russia, I want to expand my cultural competency by working and living in England.

I come from a large family; I am the oldest of three kids. So, I am used to be around children and caring for them. Moreover, I have three, almost four, years of experience in working with children and tutoring them. I talk more about my specific experience in the next response.

I would be a good au pair because I am a very committed and humble person with extensive training in tutoring. I always try my best for everyone and always give as much love and support as I possibly can. I think your children would like me because I am outgoing, never afraid to goof around, and can teach them fun words to say in Russian!

I want to learn about your culture and also teach you some of mine. I would love to cook for you all (I am a very good cook!) or even show you some American holiday traditions. If you chose me to be your au pair, I will always make sure that you and your children feel safe whenever I am around and I promise I will do everything in my power to not ever let you down.

Kind regards,
Mia
More ⇩

Experience

I have experience in the tutoring sphere. I have two years of teaching experience with elementary-aged students along with formal and monthly training from my work at the Rochester Center for Community Leadership. As a Learning and Exploring at Play tutor, I work with individual kindergarten and first graders and create lesson plans to help the students develop the academic and social skills needed to succeed in school. Working with an individual student for an entire school year has taught me to be an intensive listener, have patience with children, and have flexibility in my teaching style to best fit the student's learning style. This adaptability in tutoring has transferred over to my newest tutoring position as a Speaking Fellow, for which I received a semester of training, to tutor undergraduate and graduate students in public speaking for occasions such as interviews and casual conversation practice, the latter typically requested by non-native English speakers. I am trained to take a non-directive approach with students, which allows me to meet the children's individual needs and encourage their own ideas.
I would like to become an au pair and/or nanny because I can help your children improve in their academic life as well as take proper care of them.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Personal information

Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes
Has a driver's license - Yes, with experience

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license Yes, with experience

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker Yes, not at home

Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Student

Education College

Language Knowledge

English: Native Language, Since 22 Year/s
Russian: Elementary (A2), Since 4 Year/s

Religion

For the Au Pair religion is

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems No

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred countries United Kingdom

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town

Duration of stay >1 year

Earliest starting date Aug 2021

Latest starting date Sep 2021

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 100 - 200

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 3

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Applicants.