Member ID 2977222

Nationality American, Russian | More ⇩

Full name Shelby

City/State San Diego/ California

Country USA

Start Jan 2024 - Mar 2024

Duration of stay 10-12 Months

Good knowledge of English (Native), Russian (Native)

Last action 9 days ago

Would you like to contact Shelby?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Applicants.
1
Added as favorite 1 time in the last 3 weeks
14
Profile visited by 14 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
0%
Answer Rate

Letter to the family

Dear Families,

I am 23 years old, recently graduated from university with degrees in biology and anthropology, and currently work in childcare in San Diego, California. For the past two years I have led a sports summer camp for children aged 6-14 and worked in childcare for the remainder of the year with children from the ages of 1-12 years old. I adore learning about culture and language and have a passion for taking care of people and animals. Forming special bonds with my students, campers, and parents is priceless and I hope to continue with that as an Au Pair with the addition of cultural exchange and a novel experience. Thank you so much for your time and I hope to speak with you soon!

Best,
Shelby
More ⇩

Experience

The opportunity to live abroad and exchange culture, learn language, and form connections with a family is truly unique and rare—it is something I don’t take for granted and would likely regret if I do not do.
When my mom moved to the United States in 1996 she was hosted by a family who she learned from and allowed her to build confidence and shaped her into who she is today. I am consistently inspired by her choice to move to a new country on her own to learn another way of life in the effort to explore the beauty of this world.
After graduating university this past May, I decided to take time away from my studies to work and travel after not having had the chance for many years. During this time I have been lucky enough to travel across Europe (Switzerland, France, Netherlands, UK) along with Thailand and Vietnam in Southeast Asia. Besides the jaw-dropping landscapes, architecture, and food, it was the people I met that made traveling memorable. The stories of their children, their husbands, sisters, mothers, jobs, pets, first-loves, and more I still spend time recalling daily. This has unlocked a newfound passion for learning languages, exploring new ways of life, and leaving my comfort zone.
The reason I find the position of an Au Pair so compelling is that it gives you the opportunity to make lasting connections with families, build friendships with people you would otherwise never have met, and allows you to gain life skills to carry with you wherever you go next. I believe there is no better way to learn about a place and its people than by living with a family and helping with their daily needs. I treasure my job working with children of all ages because it keeps me active, present, and grateful for the little things in life. Helping people is a passion of mine and I would love to become a part of assisting a family with their childcare, household tasks, and pets if they hopefully have any!
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Personal information

Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes
Has a driver's license - Yes, with experience

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license Yes, with experience

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Child Care Worker

Education University

Language Knowledge

English: Native Language
Russian: Native Language
German: Beginner (A1), Since 2 Month
French: Beginner (A1), Since 4 Month

Sports  Weight lifting, golf, gymnastics

Religion

For the Au Pair religion is

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems No

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred countries Switzerland, Austria, Germany, Italy & Netherlands

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town, Village, Countryside

Duration of stay 10-12 Months

Earliest starting date Jan 2024

Latest starting date Mar 2024

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 800 +

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 2

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Applicants.