Member ID 1479548

Assist and support elderly in Companionship and conversation, Walks and outings, Mobility support, Driving, Errands/Shopping, Cleaning & Laundry, Light domestic work, Cooking meals

Nationality Spanish | More ⇩

Full name Ana Lucía

City/State Santander/ Cantabria

Country Spain

Start Feb 2020 - Feb 2020

Duration of stay 1-3 months

Good knowledge of English (B2), Spanish (Native)

Last action 24 Jan 2020

Would you like to contact this Au Pair?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, Log In to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
0
Profile visited by 0 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
0%
Answer Rate

Letter to the family

My name is Ana Lucía sario. Right now I am 22 years old and I live in Spain.

As most children in Cantabria I was born in Santander, the main city of the province.
I am adopted, my guardian had me single when she was only 24 years old. I still was a baby when she adopted me, my biological mother lived in the same building and she wasn’t able to take care of me, she was from the Dominican Republic and, although she was really hard-working, her salary wasn’t big enough. Therefore, my guardian, knowing she had her parents’ support decided to take the step to be single mother. Nevertheless, she never hided me who my biological mother was, in fact, when my mother moved to the Canary Islands, where life was easier, she used to take me on vacation to visit her. I never knew about my biological father, the only thing I know about him is that he was a truck driver, that might be the reason why I like driving.

I lived in Reinosa, a small town in the south of the province, for 18 years. At first, my guardian lived with her parents and her two brothers; I cannot remember but, maybe because I was hearing so many times ‘mom’ and ‘dad’ from the three sibling or maybe because I had no paternal figure, they told there was a time when I asked my grandfathers if I could also considered them my parents. Since then I had had three mothers, one father and two brothers. The family concept is relative for me.

My life was pretty easy; my main objective was studying to get into the career I wanted, Medicine. I went to the swimming team for 10 years, but when I was finishing high school I decided to focus on the studies so I left the team. However, I liked sports that much than I started practising Volleyball as the training was three days a week and not five days a week like in the swimming team. The rest of my childhood was normal, I had the privilege of travelling to a lot of countries and learn about many different cultures; travelling is one of my hobbies.
My high-school did annual trips so I travelled to Great Britain, to Ireland and to France with the class. My guardian also liked travelling and she showed me provinces in Spain, we travelled to Tunisia, Portugal and Japan. We were very lucky to visit Japan as, one year, my family accepted a Japanese girl in an exchange program and years after it, she got married and we were invited to the wedding, which was the second best trip I ever did. I was also able to travel with my friends: when I still was 16 years old it was me the one that did the exchange program, in summer for a month and in the United States; and when we finished high-school we programmed a Eurorail where we visited Belgium, Netherlands, Germany, Prague, Budapest and Italy among others.
More ⇩

Experience

I had an easy life, my main problem in life was studying and enjoying. When I turned 18, as in my town there was no university, I had to move to Santander. I couldn’t enter in Medicine University on my first year so I studied Nursing for a year. My adoptive family always says “You already have the No”, I learned from them to be fierce enough in life to get what I want, that’s why in the summer of 2015-2016 I studied again and, the following year, I was finally able to enter in the Medicine University. That same summer I did a volunteering program in Ecuador where I learnt about humanity, it changed my life. I saw how much I had and how little they had, and that’s when I realised how my biological mother’s life was. I am a privileged girl and that only made me want to study more, so I could in a future while healing people who needed it, also teach them how to do it by their how. Those children never complained about their lives and always smiled, there was nothing more important that helping each other.

We were 11 volunteers and worked as summer teachers in two different schools, with children of a wide ranging age. Each day was different; we addressed different matters, maths, languages, self-steam or sex education among others. We organized as a team what we wanted to teach the following day but instead of giving master classes we tried to make the class attractive and interactive. We tried that the children were the ones having the leading role and we made significance of their needings, taking advantage of the topics they liked and finding a way of making entertaining the ones they didn’t like.
For example, when the math day arrived, we had printed a colouring fish in mosaic where each piece had a calculation -a sum, multiplication, division- depending on the level so they had to solve the calculation in order to be able to paint the whole fish.

At that point I saw life different; when I returned to Spain I started to look after the Earth, ‘la Pacha Mama’ as they name it, because that’s the reason why we are all alive; I started to love more and hating less, believing more and judging less; see that doesn’t care which god exists if you take care of other as you would like to be cared, if you are kind to others, other’s will be kind to you, that’s what I consider karma. I believe my adoptive family have already taught to be respectful, polite and brave before that volunteering program but that trip opened my eyes.

I studied Medicine for three years, with the ‘helping other’s’ objective in mind. However I wasn’t paying that much attention in class, I was having a bad time: both my biological parents and also my adoptive father died and the only thing I could think about was spending time with my friends, not over-thinking death. I wasn’t passing the exams so when I turned 21 I decided not to waste money senseless. I left Santander and moved to A Coruña where I found a job as a cook. I needed that change, away of my family and friends and finally earning my own money, to find myself. Although I learned a lot, I realised how hard the catering sector was. I have been working for 10 moths, until I got swamped, I left on December 31st of 2019.
More ⇩

Personal information

Non-SmokerCan swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes
Has a driver's license - Yes, with experience

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license Yes, with experience

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker Yes, not at home

Has attended a first-aid training

Current occupation Unemployed

Education College

Basic knowledge of -

Sports  Natación y Volleyball

Religion Buddhist

For the Au Pair religion is Not important

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems No

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town, Village, Countryside

Duration of stay 1-3 months

Earliest starting date Feb 2020

Latest starting date Feb 2020

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 0 hours

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 2

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can assist and support elderly in Companionship and conversation, Walks and outings, Mobility support, Driving, Errands/Shopping, Cleaning & Laundry, Light domestic work, Cooking meals

Can care for special needs people

Can teach subjects

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.