Member ID 1716230

Nationality American | More ⇩

Full name Serena

City/State Seattle/ Washington

Country USA

Start Jan 2021 - Apr 2021

Duration of stay 10-12 months

Good knowledge of English (Native)

Last action 10 days ago

Would you like to contact this Au Pair?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
2
Profile visited by 2 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
NA
Answer Rate - Not Applicable

Letter to the family

I have cared for children at infant, toddler, and young adult stages throughout different points of my life. Some have been only children, some siblings. Whatever the case-- it is always a pleasure getting to know a family and building a mutually beneficial partnership. My array of experience gives me confidence that I can meet your family's needs regardless of what stage(s) of childhood are present. I have roughly 4 years of childcare experience.

I also spent 2 years working in a family resource center here in the U.S. During that time I was fortunate to get to know many families from diverse backgrounds. At the root of my passion for this work is my deep appreciation for cultivating community. Sharing experiences and learning from each other is one of the most important things we have in this life. I believe children have a lot to teach us, and value every opportunity I get to learn from their unique, young wisdom.

I recognize that anyone's role in a child's life must be met with the utmost sense of responsibility. Not only for obvious reasons, like safety, but also due to the influential impact adults have on growing young people. I consciously strive to be a meaningful example for the children I cross paths with.

I would be happy to skill share and help around the house as much as desired. I genuinely like cleaning and cooking, I don't mind incorporating either or both into our agreement. I especially LOVE cooking. I'm a vegetarian, but wouldn't mind learning how to cook meat for your household as desired. I am also a freelance artist, play a little guitar, and of course, I am a fluent English speaker. Whether it be language practice or some creative endeavor, I'd love to contribute however I can.

For the last 8 years I've been in the nonprofit industry. I have been fortunate enough to attend multiple conflict de-escalation and peaceful communication workshops throughout my career because of the nature of the work I've been involved with. I have also learned a lot about what it means to intentionally build and strengthen relationships, as well as how to adapt to new situations easily. All of that is to say, I look forward to putting my best effort into being an accommodating, helpful, intentional, and diplomatic house guest. This experience would change my life in so many important ways... It would be my honor to give my all to helping your household.
More ⇩

Experience

Babysitting experience:
-3 years of consistently babysitting two sisters; initially ages 2 and 6
-On and off babysitting of 6-12 month olds on multiple occasions, for a few different people
-Experience working with single and working family households
-1 year of consistently babysitting two siblings; a 12 year old girl and her 6 month old brother
-Experience with duties such as ensuring children accomplish homework/chores, getting them up & ready for the day, getting them ready for bed on time, mediating disputes between siblings, walking children to school, cooking meals regularly, working overnight shifts, changing diapers, and making sure children are generally happy & entertained :)
-*Two Letters of Recommendations from families I have worked with coming soon

Experience working with families at the resource center:
-Helping families experiencing poverty with free basic needs items like diapers, baby formula, food, hygiene items, etc.
-Assisting with family "play groups" at the facility to provide education, fun, and childcare for families involved
-Assisting with annual holiday gift program to ensure families experiencing poverty are able to provide gifts for their children around the holidays
-Interviewing families (including children of various age ranges) about their experiences at the facility
-*Letter of Recommendation from my former boss at this organization coming
More ⇩

Personal information

Non-SmokerCan swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Coordinator

Education Secondary School

Language Knowledge

English: Native Language

Sports  I love running and rock climbing!

Religion No Religion

For the Au Pair religion is Not important

Special diet considerations Vegetarian

Has health problems No

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred area Big City

Duration of stay 10-12 months

Earliest starting date Jan 2021

Latest starting date Apr 2021

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 0 hours

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 3

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.