Member ID 1716144

Tutor for English

Nationality American | More ⇩

Full name Elizabeth

City/State Sioux Falls/ South Dakota

Country USA

Start Aug 2021 - May 2022

Duration of stay 4-6 months

Good knowledge of Spanish (B1), French (B1), English (Native)

Last action 2 days ago

Would you like to contact this Au Pair?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
3
Profile visited by 3 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
New
Recently Registered

Letter to the family

Hello,

My name is Elizabeth and I am currently in my third year attending Augustana University, a private university in South Dakota. I have a deep passion for language and culture. I am currently studying French and Spanish through my university and study Korean and Japanese in my spare time. My dream is to become an English Second Language teacher and work with non-native speakers of all ages. I especially love working with young children. I worked at a Daycare for preschoolers and toddlers all through high-school, and am currently in the process of becoming an online English teacher for preschool children. I now work as a tutor at my university and have worked also as the teacher's assistant in a composition course designed specifically for international students. My second year of university, I spent several months tutoring a high-school student from South Korea.

I am ready to commit fully to your family and your child. I understand the importance of knowing English as a second language, especially in terms of the career and travel opportunities a knowledge of English facilitates, and will do all I can to engage and motivate your child in their study of English.

I understand also the importance of making language exchange interesting, fun, and effective. Depending on your child's learning style and your goals as parents, I can create either an informal curriculum focused on everyday conversations and language immersion, or I can provide a more structured approach to learning written and spoken English. I am excited to get to know your family and help however I can.

Looking forward to hearing from you!
Elizabeth
More ⇩

Experience

I currently work as a tutor for my university, helping both native English speakers and International students to improve their written English. I have a solid working knowledge of English grammar and am able to help students identify specific problems in their writing and make long term plans for improvement. I have also worked one-on-one with a high-school student from South Korea. We focused specifically on that student's school assignments, walking through the planning, writing, and editing stages of writing an essay or composition. I also designed a mini curriculum for the student, designed to target his writing weaknesses and improve his overall knowledge of English grammar.

I am a gifted writer (I won an essay competition my freshman year of university, and always receive top scores on my own compositions and papers) and would love to help your child hone their writing skills, especially if your child or teenager has struggled with written English in the past. I love working with non-native English speakers, as I believe they bring a unique skill set to the table, just as they face a unique set of challenges. I am excited to share my knowledge with your child, as it is my wish that I can help improve your child's long-term chances for success.
More ⇩

Personal information

Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Has a driver's license - Yes, no experience

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Student

Education University

Language Knowledge

English: Native Language
Spanish: Intermediate (B1)
French: Intermediate (B1)
Korean: Elementary (A2)
Japanese: Beginner (A1)

Sports  None

Religion Christian

For the Au Pair religion is Important

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems No

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred area Big City, Town, Village, Countryside

Duration of stay 4-6 months

Earliest starting date Aug 2021

Latest starting date May 2022

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 0 hours

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 2

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with the mother

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

Can teach subjects English

To students of age group Toddlers (2-3), Preschoolers (4-5), Primary school (6-12), Teenagers (13-17)

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.