Member ID 1416700

Nationality American | More ⇩

Full name Lauren

City/State Stony Brook/ New York

Country USA

Start Mar 2020 - Apr 2020

Duration of stay 1-3 months

Good knowledge of French (B1), English (Native)

Last action 01 Apr 2020

Would you like to contact this Au Pair?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, Log In to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
0
Profile visited by 0 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
0%
Answer Rate

Letter to the family

Dear Family,

My name is Lauren, and I am a nineteen year old au pair seeking an active, adventurous family! I have quite a bit of childcare experience, but would love to extend that to an international occupation. I currently live on Long Island, New York, though I have lived in California, Canada, and England. I am taking a gap year from college, and my current goal is to broaden my perspective and gain a greater sense of self. I love to travel and meet new people, and can’t wait to get started on this opportunity. I am interested in engaging with a like minded family who loves to socialize and make new memories. Feel free to send me a message if you have any questions!
More ⇩

Experience

I am both a er and older sister, and have three siblings total. I have acted almost as a "second mother" to my er brothers for quite some time, and learned how to care for children at a age. My house was destroyed in Hurricane Sandy, and during the rebuilding process, I found myself with far more responsibilities than most twelve year olds. While my parents managed finances and construction, I learned how to cook for my family, maintain a balance between academic, athletic, and social affairs, and care for my er brothers.

I have also been a babysitter since I was 13. I have been looking after one family for close to five years now. The bond that I have with these children (and their dog!) is almost maternal, and I have loved watching them grow. Additionally, I have worked as a tutor for quite some time, and am well versed in communicating effectively with children. I am very comfortable around them, and love to engage with er minds. Working alongside children is one of my passions, and I have considered it as a career option in the future. Being an au pair would be the perfect opportunity to garner some additional insight into the world of full time childcare, while simultaneously permitting me to pursue another one of my interests: travel.

Since I was very little, my parents have placed a heavy emphasis on the importance of travel. My mother is British and my father is Canadian, and both are incredibly cultured. They wanted to ensure that their children had the same ability as them to explore the world, and as a result, I have been fortunate enough to visit countries such as Monaco, Mexico, and Italy. However, the trip that made the most impact was my sixteenth birthday present. At age fifteen, I spent five weeks abroad, exploring England, Spain, Italy, and France. Though my family stayed with me for three out of the five weeks, I spent most of this trip alone. It was absolutely life changing. I had visited all of these countries before, but that was the first vacation that I had ever taken by myself. I was able to interact with people from different cultures, and truly immerse myself in European culture. It was here that I felt home. I had never wanted anything so badly than to live in Europe one day. Becoming an au pair abroad would enable me to combine some of my greatest passions: European culture, travel, and childcare. I would absolutely love to work in another country with a family who is as passionate about living life as I am!
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Personal information

Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Current occupation Student - Science / IT

Education University

Basic knowledge of -

Sports  Volleyball, Jiu Jitsu, Soccer, Skydiving

Religion No Religion

For the Au Pair religion is Not important

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems No

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred area Big City

Duration of stay 1-3 months

Earliest starting date Mar 2020

Latest starting date Apr 2020

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 50 - 100

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 1

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

Can teach subjects

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.