Au Pair ID 1401975

Nationality American | More ⇩

Full name Amelia

City/State Granada/ Granada

Country Spain

Start Oct 2019 - Nov 2019

Duration of stay 1-3 months

Good knowledge of English (Native)

Last action 16 Sep 2019

Would you like to contact this Au Pair?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, Log In to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
2
Profile visited by 2 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
55%
Answer Rate

Letter to the family

Hi! My name is Amelia, I am a 22 year old English teacher from Texas, USA. In May, I graduated from Southwestern University with a Bachelor of Science degree in Biology, with a pre-medical focus and a minor in Spanish. I studied abroad while I was in school, learning Spanish in Buenos Aires. This was my first taste of adventure and travel, and I can't get enough! I was preparing for medical school when I realized that I wanted to see the world before I went back to school for a Masters or Doctorate degree, so I decided to come to Spain! Before 2 months ago, I had never been to Europe, and while I studied Spanish for 6 years in school, I rarely used it in real life. I thought Spain would be the perfect place to learn about a new culture and language, see new things, and meet new people. And I have loved it so far! I spent one month in Barcelona, earning my TEFL certification to teach English as a foreign language (receiving an "A" grade in both theory and practicum)! I am currently in Granada, teaching English and exploring the city.

While it has been fun exploring on my own, I would love to learn about the country, customs, and language in a more personal setting, and I have been thinking about becoming an au pair for over a year now! I truly valued my host family while studying abroad, and I would love to become "part of the family" I work for. I love cooking, nature, and being outdoors and would be more than willing to do any cooking, gardening, or caring for animals that is needed. I would love to learn the Spanish way of life and am eager to practice speaking the language.

I am a diligent worker and love teaching and caring for children. When I am working, you can expect that your children will be my sole focus and priority. I teach English online to Chinese children in the afternoons and would love a job where I have free time to continue these lessons- I love my students! I also would love to explore the area surrounding where I live, visiting neighboring cities and traveling on the weekends when I am not working.

This is my first time working as an au pair, and while I have a good idea of the job qualifications and requirements, I am flexible and open to suggestions! I am open to discussing roles and expectations to ensure that any job situation is the right fit for myself and the family I work for.
More ⇩

Experience

I absolutely love children. I think they are funny and adventurous and I love that they are always learning new things- and I love being the one to teach them! I have been babysitting for all ages since I was 13! I even made my own business with little business cards I would hand out to my mom's friends who had small children. I have been a nanny twice, to two different sets of brothers (ages 9 and 13, and ages 13 months and 2 years). They were both over a three month period over the summer. I loved getting to know these kids and watching them grow.

While I was in college, I participated in a math and science mentorship program where I tutored elementary school children and completed fun science projects with them! I also volunteered for an organization that mentored teenage mothers. I would watch their babies once a week while they did activities with friends and mentors. I am CPR and First Aid certified, and have an extensive knowledge of medical care, as I worked in a hospital for over a year in school.

For the last six months, I have been teaching English online, which I absolutely love. It is amazing to watch these children grow their knowledge of the language and fun to see them in class multiple times a week. As stated above, I am TEFL and TESOL certified, with in practicum experience teaching children and adults. My teaching style is conversational and student centered, especially when teaching children. I love to play games with English, and take kids on excursions, such as a zoo or a park, where we can talk about what we see in English. It is so important to make learning fun!

I want to become an au pair to build a relationship with a family, learn more about life in Spain, and to gain teaching experience! I think I would enjoy a personal connection with the children I care for and teach, as well as with their parents. I have one little sister in the US, who I love dearly. I would love to have a similar role within a family in a new place as well.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

More ⇩

Personal information

Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes
Has a driver's license - Yes, with experience

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license Yes, with experience

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Current occupation English Teacher

Education University

Basic knowledge of Spanish (A1)

Sports  Baseball, Basketball, Soccer, Volleyball, Swimming

Religion No Religion

For the Au Pair religion is Not important

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems No

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - NoDoes accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Duration of stay 1-3 months

Earliest starting date Oct 2019

Latest starting date Nov 2019

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

Does accept family with pets

Can take care of pets

Can work more for extra money

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town, Village, Countryside

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 201 - 500

Age group 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 3

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.