Member ID 1785522

Nationality Croatian | More ⇩

Full name Dunya

City/State Travnik/

Telephone number Only Premium members

Mobile number Only Premium members

Country Bosnia and Herzegovina

Start Jun 2021 - Jul 2021

Duration of stay 10-12 months

Good knowledge of Swedish (B1), Bosnian (Native), Croatian (Native), Serbian (Native), English (Native)

Last action 13 days ago

Would you like to contact Dunya?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Applicants.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
1
Profile visited by 1 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
NA
Answer Rate - Not Applicable

Letter to the family

Hello dear host family!

A little insight:

You can count on me to: 1. do my ob properly, responsibly and whole-heartedly
2. serve as a big sister and role model to your kids and treat them like they are my family
3. respect your boundaries and get out of your way when you need your space
4. ump in and help out beyond my 'working hours' whenever you're feeling overwhelmed/need you time or space/have date nights, etc, etc..
5. be a supportive person in your life who is going to bring in positivity and strive to uplift you :)

About me:
I am a soon-to-be graduate of political science from Bosnia - with an EU passport (Croatian) and after this very taxing four-year ourney of studying in Zagreb, I am ready for something different, exciting and potentially challenging.
I heard about the au pair program from a friend and I thought it would be something I'd benefit from in many ways.
First of all - intercultural exchanges have been the biggest passion of mine ever since I was selected for a prestigious exchange program scholarship funded by the U.S. State Department. I was 16 at the time and got the opportunity to spend a year in the U.S. as a cultural exchange student in San Antonio, Texas. I lived with an incredible host family and worked part-time as a babysitter to a 7-year-old girl and 12-year-old boy which was one of the most fulfilling and happy periods of my life.
I would love to have something similar to that again, preferably in Sweden since I am fascinated by their culture and language, but I am open to virtually any place in the world.
If you are looking for a native English speaker, I would consider myself as one since I have almost had a bilingual upbringing where I got to read English before I even knew how to read Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian and that's why my accent is undetectable. To me, it's very neutral but people say it sounds American.
I have years of experience in English teaching and I have completed professional training in English teaching in Washington D.C.
While in D.C., I was selected to serve as a teacher/mentor at orientations for newly selected high school exchange students from all over the world. This was a turning point for me because I realized that I thrived the most in environments where I can connect with kids, share my experience with them and let them share theirs. It was the most fulfilling ob I have ever done and I never wanted it to end. I had an intense schedule working from 08:00 AM to 22:00 PM 5 days a week for 2 months but it was the most rewarding and fun experience of my life.


CHILDREN, EXPERIENCE, SKILLS & how I view this opportunity:

Kids tend to really like me because I am naturally a very warm and goofy person so I think they gravitate towards that. I enoy both 'girly' and geeky stuff - so I feel I can relate to all types of kids. I am obsessed with cartoons, YouTube, board games, anime, anything interactive, anything creative. There's never a dull moment!
I have been around children my entire life, sadly I have less experience with newborns so if you are interested in my profile and have a 0-2 year old - know that I am not that experienced with taking care of such young children but I am willing to learn. I have been a babysitter both in America and Croatia, and the kids I have taken care of were either in pre-school or early middle school. I get emotionally attached to the kids I spend time around quite easily which is a good trait to have in an au pair but kind of hard on me. I still keep in touch with the kids I looked after in the U.S., even though we have not seen each other in 5 years.

COOKING - I follow a vegan/vegetarian diet and I can cook anything decently as long as I have a recipe or instructions.
I would be more than happy to cook on a regular basis for you and/or your kids, I am not a phenomenal cook but I think I know my way around the kitchen and whenever I cook for others, it's always positive reactions.
I make great pizza, pancakes, Bosnian pita, weird lentil dishes :)

I have to say - I take this opportunity of being an au pair extremely seriously and I admire and applaud you parents for being open to such an idea because I would imagine that it is certainly daunting and a huge gamble to invite a random stranger into your home. That's why I want to do whatever it takes to reassure you that my intentions are genuine and that I am an incredibly conscientious, responsible, hardworking and understanding person.
You will learn that I am a people pleaser who is extremely flexible, compassionate and always ready to go the extra mile to make others happy.
I am happy to video chat with you as I am sure you'll feel at ease once you get to talk to me and actually 'feel' my vibe! If you have any questions, concerns or comments - let me know and I will respond ASAP.






(For my Swedish host families - I lived in Lund for 10 months last year and had the most amazing time studying at Lund University and getting to know your culture and language so I would be eager to continue working on my Swedish - I am still actively studying it, I think my level is at B1 or B2, so I am not that bad (ag tror). I really love the show Bonusfamilen and I feel really annoyed that I can't access svtplay from the Balkans because I miss that show dearly LOL.)
More ⇩

Additional pictures

More ⇩

Personal information

Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes
Has a driver's license - Yes, with experience

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license Yes, with experience

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Student - Social Science

Education College

Language Knowledge

Bosnian: Native Language
Croatian: Native Language
Serbian: Native Language
English: Native Language
Swedish: Intermediate (B1)

Religion No Religion

For the Au Pair religion is Not important

Special diet considerations Vegan

Has health problems No.

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred countries Sweden

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town, Village, Countryside

Duration of stay 10-12 months

Earliest starting date Jun 2021

Latest starting date Jul 2021

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 50 - 100

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 3

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Applicants at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Applicants.