Member ID 1589519

Nationality American | More ⇩

Full name Makayla

City/State West Branch/ Michigan

Country USA

Start Jul 2021 - Oct 2021

Duration of stay 10-12 months

Good knowledge of English (B1), English (Native), English (Native)

Last action 14 days ago

Would you like to contact this Au Pair?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
9
Profile visited by 9 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
75%
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Letter to the family

Dear potential host family,

Greetings! My name is Makayla . I am 18 years old and from a small city in northern Michigan in the United States of America. In the United States, I live with my large family of eleven! My father is a Lieutenant for the police while my mother is a doctor, my older brothers have graduated from college and are currently working as physical therapists and software editors, and finally, my sisters are in college with my youngest brother is in high school. We are a pretty large family but I wouldn't have it any other way as I love the constant business and movemen. There is never a dull moment.

I would describe myself as a pretty patient and relaxed person who loves to have fun. I love to read in my free time and also write children's storybooks. I also enjoy spending time with my family playing board games, watching movies, and enjoying each other's company. During the summer I tend to spend a lot of time outside and love to swim and take long walks with the family dog. I also do a fair amount of gardening and like to grow flowers. I graduated from high school in June of 2020 and did the majority of high school outside of the United States. In my second year of high school, I studied at an international school in Tokyo Japan. It was here that I realized my passion for teaching English as I often volunteered at a local primary school. During my second exchange, I studied inSão José dos Campos, Brazil, and took classes in Portuguese and English. With both of these amazing experiences, I was able to realize my love for education and teaching through volunteer work at the local schools. I have been accepted to Michigan State University where I will study middle education but have decided to first gain more firsthand experience of teaching English as a second language before continuing my studies.

I am currently an Au pair to a lovely family in Istanbul, Turkey. I take care of two children, K* and L*, who I adore and who I spend the majority of my time with. With Covid-19 I have been in a little bit of a different situation than most au pairs as the children spend almost all of their time at home. I love having the children at home and it has given me the amazing opportunity to get to know them and build a relationship with them. My main focus with the children is to help them improve their English. I have a sit-down English lesson with each child for 2 hours four times a week. In these lessons, I teach K, who is just starting to read, phonetics along with practicing explaining difficult subjects in English to improve vocabulary. In L’s lessons, the main focus is to improve grammar, writing skills, and public speaking abilities. For both of their lessons, I make all the material including the worksheets so that what they learn fits exactly what they need to improve. In addition to the lessons, I spend a lot of time playing with children to improve their English as I want them to learn and experience English the same way a native English speaker would. We do a lot of crafts like painting and making pottery or clay figures to achieve this so that English becomes part of their normal life and not just something they learn in school. All of the elements combined make for a great environment for the kids to improve their English as it becomes a way for them to interact with the things and people around them.

I believe myself to be an excellent candidate as your potential au pair due to not only my experience caring for children but my genuine drive to teach English and to help your children understand the cultural context of the language. I am a patient and knowledgeable teacher with the tools to help you succeed. I would be honored to help your child grow and give them the opportunities that can only be had through proficiency in the English language and culture. Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,
Makayla
More ⇩

Experience

I am currently an Au Pair and it has been one of the most enriching experiences of my life! Being able to help my host children learn and grow not only in knowledge but as individuals has been incredible. I love the cultural differences that the children are eger to teach me about and how there is always something new to learn or do. It's while being an Au Pair have I found my true passion of teaching!
More ⇩

Additional pictures

More ⇩

Personal information

Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Child Care Worker

Education College

Language Knowledge

English: Native Language
English: Intermediate (B1)
English: Native Language

Sports  Swim, Hockey

Religion No Religion

For the Au Pair religion is Not important

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems No

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred area Big City

Duration of stay 10-12 months

Earliest starting date Jul 2021

Latest starting date Oct 2021

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 501 - 800

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 2

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.