Member ID 1597988

Nationality Canadian | More ⇩

Full name Cassandra

City/State Woodbridge/ Ontario

Country Canada

Start Oct 2020 - Dec 2020

Duration of stay 7-9 months

Good knowledge of English (Native)

Last action 15 Hours ago

Would you like to contact this Au Pair?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, login to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.
2
Profile added to the favorite list of 2 candidates in the last 3 weeks
38
Profile visited by 38 Host Families in the last 3 weeks
87%
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Letter to the family

My name is Cassandra and I am a 22 year old, university graduate living in Toronto, Canada. I have a fun personality and thrive at being positive and outgoing!

I currently live at home with my mother, younger brother, and dog (I love pets!). I grew up in catholic, Italian household and have always dreamed about going to see what country my family originates from. I am especially close with my mother and growing up, my nonni would always speak Italian to me. I understand the language but have a difficult time speaking it and am looking to broaden my language skills. I have always felt connected to the culture from growing up with Italian traditions and mindset. Family has always been important to me and I truly believe that the best way to showcase who you are, is how you care for people.

Throughout school, I had a big passion for travel. I have visited countless countries and took part in international experiences that my school offered and also traveled alone, with friends, and with family. I spent my last year of university preparing, organizing and fundraising to spend a month in India volunteering with children in a local village. Unfortunately, because of Covid-19 outbreak, I never got to go. I am still thankful for the learning experience though. Last year, I lived abroad in Queensland, Australia for a semester of university. I moved abroad alone and as much as I missed my family, I never felt homesick. I’ve always been very independent and love meeting new people and experiencing new things. While living abroad, I made lifelong friends from all countries across the globe and this gave me a new perspective on my life. I have a fascination for learning new cultures and meeting new people.

My media degree allowed me to work with children in a few sectors including taking classes in Children's television programming and learning sign language. The radio station that I worked for throughout university, was very involved with helping children in our local community. We held a fundraiser every year that I assisted in organizing which would raise money for "Sick Kids Hospital" in Toronto. It was a telethon that usually raised close to $500,000 every year. I had the opportunity as well to use my marketing skills to assist in facilitating a fundraiser for children's school supplies in an under privileged area. I got connected "WE Charity" through a classmate and I bring my mother with me every year to volunteer at "WE DAY" which is an inspiring concert event for elementary school children. Prior to university, I interned at a local television station which later turned into me landing an on-air gig as a television host! I hosted a talk show for teenagers and hosted a nationally broadcasted Christmas show about Santa Claus for young children.
More ⇩

Experience

I have spent nearly 6 years working with children. All throughout high school, I worked part time as a swimming instructor for children. I worked with children from ages 1-16 teaching them swim strokes, water safety, and conducting fun water games with them. I would work a few evenings and weekends as well. I absolutely loved working with children and making swimming lessons fun! From working this job, I learned valuable skills in working with children with different needs and personalities. I viewed my job as a swim instructor as not only an opportunity to teach these children a valuable life skill, but also a way for me to come up with creative and fun ways to teach them.

Prior to my job as a swim instructor, I spent my summers volunteering at a local summer camp and doing babysitting jobs. At the summer camp, I would take care of children between the ages of 3-14. Spending time with these children doing crafts and playing sports was tons of fun for me, and that’s why I chose to spend time volunteering there. I truly feel like I am a child at heart and that's why I loved this job so much.

Overall, I think being an au pair would be a great opportunity for me to combine my passion of travel and learning new cultures, and my passion for child care in one experience. At the same time, I am hoping that I can have a positive impact on your family and make this a great experience for everyone. I believe that life is what you make of it, and whose life you make a difference in.
More ⇩

References

Driving License
Academic Certificates

Personal information

Non-SmokerHas attended a first-aid training - Yes
Can swim well - Yes
Can ride a bike - Yes
Has a driver's license - Yes, with experience

Can swim well

Can ride a bike

Has a driver's license Yes, with experience

Has siblings

Has a valid passport

Non-Smoker

Has attended a first-aid training

Profession Marketing Professional

Education University

Basic knowledge of Italian (A1)

Sports  Swimming, Bike riding, Walking, love water sports

Religion No Religion

For the Au Pair religion is

Special diet considerations No special diet

Has health problems No

More ⇩

Job information

Can work more for extra money - Yes
Can care for special needs children - Yes
Does accept family with pets - Yes
Can take care of pets - Yes

Preferred area Big City, Suburb, Town, Village

Duration of stay 7-9 months

Earliest starting date Oct 2020

Latest starting date Dec 2020

Does accept family with pets

Can work more for extra money

Can take care of pets

Age group 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

Hours of child care experience in the past 24 months 50 - 100

Would like to take care of this number of children/people 2

Would work for a single parent? Yes, with any of them

Can care for special needs children

Can care for special needs people

Can teach subjects

To students of age group

More ⇩

About me

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the Au Pairs at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite Au Pairs.