Family ID: 1108695

Children: 1 Children, 1 - 5 years old

City: Abingdon / Town | More ⇩

Name Emma

State Oxfordshire

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: May 2021 - Sep 2021

Time of stay: 10-12 months

Last action: 13 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
4
Profile added to the favorite list of 4 candidates in the last 3 weeks
32
Profile Visited by 32 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
71%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Dear Au Pair,

We are a loving, fun and relaxed household in a lovely town just outside Oxford in the UK. We both work and our little boy is currently at school. We have ticked 10-12 months for preferred length of stay, but will consider shorter or longer.

We would like a responsible, fun and kind au pair, preferably from somewhere in Europe, to join our family and help to care for our lovely, fun and good-natured son. Whilst the job is mainly during weekdays, because of our jobs, we are seeking someone with some flexibility. We would provide a roster for our monthly needs based on our work diaries, which will include an occasional on-call element.

We have a live-in au pair at the moment and it works really well. We pay her for 30 hours each week but she generally works for less than that. Generally, you would have most weekends off and some time off during the week too. We would need a bit of extra on-call assistance during one week per month (including weekend) but with time off in the week to compensate. We want you to feel well cared for and hope that you would like to join in with us!! Our au pair is leaving us to start university - we have loved having her and she would be very happy to talk with you about the role.

Your main remit will be caring for our fun and intelligent son – Preparing him for school, doing the drop off/pick up, and being within a reasonable distance in case of any problems. We are passionate about educating and inspiring him therefore we want someone who is passionate about children in the same way, who would inspire him through play and guidance. We want someone we can trust, and who would love, and make the most of, their time with our precious son. We would like some general help around the house with daily chores. In particular, keeping the nursery and toys tidy etc and keeping control of the nursery supplies and letting us know when things need replenishing. We have a cleaner that comes in once a week. School is a 5 minute walk away. We have one very relaxed and friendly cat.

We would be very happy to discuss whatever your study plans might be, though please note that a daily commute in to London would not be advisable..

We would like you to have means of getting some kind of security check and first aid training – we can discuss this with you at interview.

As mentioned, the job is generally week days but there would be occasional evening and weekend requirement, usually just being on-call, which you would know about in advance. When you are on call, you can carry on as normal – just as long as you are available if needed.

This job would suit someone enthusiastic and positive who will enjoy our interesting and varied life. You are welcome to speak to our current au pair, who has written about the role below. She has become one of the family and it has been a pleasure having and supporting her.

We live in a village on the outskirts of Abingdon-on-Thames; a lively town central to England and with easy transport to Oxford and London, and indeed all around the country.

Our house is a 15 minute walk from the town - Very near parks, the river Thames, shops, sports centres, a lovely outdoor swimming pool/lido, restaurants and cafes. There is a regular bus service to Oxford every 10 minutes and takes about 15-20 minutes

It takes around 45 mins on the train from Didcot to get to London Paddington. Oxford is stunning and the whole area offers a cultural experience. You would have your own single room in our spacious peaceful home, with lovely views of our garden outside. It's a lovely area to live and we would be very happy for you to make the most of your time here e.g. classes, social groups etc.

We are a caring family who likes to get stuck in to life - we enjoy local events, food and restaurants, music, reading, walking, camping, sailing, skiing, picnics by the river, bbq's, having fun as a family! Ultimately, we hope to find a reliable, caring person with a positive outlook to join our family as our son’s fun big sister! We hope you can see that you would be very well cared for.

Love, the s
More ⇩

Job Description

Our son will be at school every weekday during term-time from around 08:45-15:30.

On a typical weekday our au pair would get him up and either mummy, daddy or the au pair would leave the house to walk him to school. He would then need picking up again. While he is at school, she will have some time to herself – e.g. for study/courses etc. – and there would be some jobs to do in the house.

We have a cleaner who comes in weekly, so our current au pair helps with day-to-day chores throughout the day, for example, laundry, washing up, putting bins out, feeding cat, keeping the house tidy (particularly his room and toys), and suchlike. We have a weekly food delivery and then we would ask you to pick up small or fresh items during the week from the supermarket. We would provide you with petty cash and a mobile phone for work-related use. He usually spends time with mummy and daddy in the evening, and we put him to bed, so generally her evenings would be her own.


We find the key is flexibility and communication. Our current au pair is very helpful by appreciating our working patterns and equally, when she needs time for something, we have always managed to come up with a solution to help her.

If the new au pair can let us know of any study plans, we can be as flexible as possible with rostering time for that. Unfortunately, due to the changing shift patterns of our work, we cannot always guarantee the same day off every week. Evenings and weekends would be mostly free and there will be plenty of study time available during the day.

The monthly roster will show the times when she would be in sole charge of our son. Outside these times we would like her to feel free to do as she wishes.
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Town

Parent's Age Group 40-55

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality British

Languages spoken at home English

Religion Other

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Airline Pilots + accident investigator / Pilot

People living in the house 3

Children's/people's age and gender One boy, aged six in August.

More ⇩

Job Requirements


Working Hours (per week) 30 - 35

Pocket Money (per month) 470 GBP

Preferred Gender Female

Duration of Stay 10-12 months

Earliest Starting Date May 2021

Latest Starting Date Sep 2021

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old

Children/People to take care of 1

Minimum Childcare Experience 50-100

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities Austrian, Belgian, Bulgarian, Channel Islander, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Luxembourgian, Macedonian, Maltese, New Zealander, Norwegian, Polish, Romanian, Scottish, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Swiss, Welsh

Required Language Skills Good

Required Education Level High school

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? Negotiable

Required Age 18-32

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required Yes

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The Applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.
Au Pair in the UK: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: visa requirements for the participants

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: requirements and the process

Read More »