Family ID: 638135

Children: 2 Children, 11 - 14 years old

City: Amersham / Town | More ⇩

Name Angus

State Buckinghamshire

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Feb 2020 - Feb 2020

Time of stay: 4-6 months

Last action: 18 Feb 2020

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on
and contact all the families at no cost! If you already have an account, Log In to send messages to your favourite families.
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
Profile Visited by 0 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

We are Angus and Helen, and we live in Amersham, Buckinghamshire. We have two children; Robert, who is 14 years old, and Alexandra, who is 12.

Amersham is a town located 35 minutes by train from Central London: it also lies on a Tube line (Metropolitan). The town has plenty of good supermarkets, pubs and restaurants, and is on the edge of the Chiltern Hills It is a peaceful, safe, location and consequently attracts a large number of young families.

There is plenty to do locally, and a lively social scene for au pairs.

We have had au pairs for the last six years, and enjoy the experience. We are still friends with all of them so it looks like they had a good time as well. Their English certainly improved.
More ⇩

Job Description

Childcare-wise we would need to you to supervise breakfast on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and occasionally Thursday. On Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays you may need to take Alexandra to school, and collect her. On Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays you will need to cook an evening meal for them and supervise them (and homework)!!! until we get back from work. Babysitting one evening a week on average – sometimes at weekends. Other than that we will be very flexible and so you will have lots of time to do other things. Our previous au pairs have all attended language classes in Amersham during the week, there is plenty of opportunity to do so.

Robert is studying French, and Alexandra Spanish. If the au pair is able to provide some tutoring in either, or both, of these languages then we would be happy to pay an additional allowance.

Alexandra swims six days a week, and will need taking, and occasionally picking up, from the local pool. Robert swims at the same pool on Tuesdays.

Beyond childcare, we are not looking for Cinderella. We employ a cleaner who cleans the house from top to bottom once a week, but we like to keep our house clean and tidy – although the children don’t necessarily realise that. We would like you to enjoy cooking meals for the children and to help out more generally with their laundry, packed lunches etc.

We have a dog, Charlie, (Black Labrador) who needs walking on the days we are at work - but we have a park at the end of our road so it's easy, and it is a good way to stay fit and get fresh air. And it doesn't always rain in England........
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Town

Parent's Age Group 40-55

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality British

Languages spoken at home English, French, Italian

Religion Christian

Importance of Religion Not important

Occupation Project Management

People living in the house 4

Children's/People's age and gender Angus (Male 54)
Helen (Female 48)
Robert (Male 14)
Alexandra (Female 12)

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Driving required - Yes

Earliest Starting Date Feb 2020

Latest Starting Date Feb 2020

Duration of Stay 4-6 months

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 11 - 14 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience 0 Hours

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Gender Female

Preferred Nationalities Belgian, Danish, Finnish, French, Italian, Latvian, Norwegian, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish, Swiss

Required Language Skills Sufficient

Required Education Level Secondary school

Working Hours (per week) 15 - 20

Pocket Money (per month) 500 GBP

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? Yes

Required Age 21-30

Accepts Smokers Yes, not at home

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required Yes

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The Applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on
and contact all the families at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.


Our house is situated on a cul de sac, 5 minutes’ walk from the rail and Tube station. There are five bedrooms, and a decent size garden. If you decide to come and live with us you would have your own bedroom, and share a bathroom with the children; and occasional guests, although the children generally use our ensuite shower room.
Au Pair in the UK: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: visa requirements for the participants

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: requirements and the process

Read More »