Family ID: 2512493

Need Caregiver for elderly for:
Cleaning & Laundry, Light domestic work, Cooking meals

City: Arvada / Suburb | More ⇩

Name Mary

State Colorado

Postal code Click here to View

Job Start: Jan 2023 - Feb 2023

Time of stay: 6-24 Months

Last action: 5 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
10
Profile added to the favorite list of 10 candidates in the last 3 weeks
171
Profile Visited by 171 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
14%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hello! I am looking for a live-in caregiver for my elderly friend, Debbie. She lives in a pleasant suburb of Denver, within walking distance of local bus service. I don't know about language schools near there but you will have time during the day to go to school (there are community colleges within a local bus ride; also Regis University, which is a highly rated Jesuit school) or even take another (part time) day job. There are lots of entertainment and cultural venues (Red Rocks Amphitheater, Denver Center for the Performing Arts, museums, movie theaters etc...all within a 30 min. drive.) Arvada is close to the Rocky Mountains with lots of recreational activities available (Skiing, biking, hiking, etc.)
More ⇩

Job Description

Debbie needs help around the house. Duties would include preparation of healthy meals, light housework, laundry, pet care for her little dog (nothing major, just let him outside regularly and make sure he has food and water) and reminding her to take her meds. No bathing or medical assistance required (other than reminders to bathe and take meds...she sometimes forgets to do these things.) Other caregivers can take her to appointments, do her shopping and do yardwork and big housecleaning tasks. (washing the windows, steam cleaning carpets, etc.)
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Suburb

Age group of elderly/senior 55+

Does elderly/senior live alone? Yes, single female

Nationality American

Languages spoken at home English

Religion Christian

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Teacher

People living in the house 1

Age and gender of elderly/senior 73 Year female

More ⇩

Job Requirements

First Aid Training required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 15 - 20

Salary of Caregiver for elderly 100 USD

Required Gender Female

Duration of Stay 6-24 Months

Earliest Starting Date Jan 2023

Latest Starting Date Feb 2023

Looking for Caregiver for elderly

Children's/People's Age

Children/People to take care of -

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in Cleaning & Laundry, Light domestic work, Cooking meals

Preferred Nationalities No Preferences

Language Skills
 English, Minimum Upper intermediate (B2)

Education Level No preferences

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? no

Required Age 18-75

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required Yes

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required Yes

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

Debbie was a music teacher and choir director for most of her career. She played piano (she still has one in her living room but her hands don't work like they used to.) She still likes to sing but her voice has lost its former sparkle). She would appreciate someone with an interest in music and singing to share her passion for the arts! She used to go to church but its hard for her to go these days. She is Christian but is happy to accept people of all (or no) faiths. She is the sweetest, kindest soul I know (aside from my mom, who was Debbie's best friend) I have a personal desire to see that she is well cared for and can stay in her home for as long as possible. The day may come when she will require more care than we can provide, but for now I want her to have the best life possible.
More ⇩

Accommodation

The accommodation would be a large comfortable room in the basement with s big bright window (although it lacks a view, as it is a window well below the ground) For now there is not a separate bathroom for the caregiver but that is a possibility to add on if this becomes a long term assignment... Debbie had a walk-in tub with a bench and shower attachment for safety. Her house is relatively big and since she can no longer navigate the stairs, the basement would be your private space. She does have a piano and would enjoy it if you could play sometimes. If you have a drivers license and insurance, there is a vehicle she no longer uses that you could use if you want to run errands for her but this is not a necessary part of the job. She is very quiet, a non-smoker and is content to sit watching TV most of the time. You could sit with her or retreat to your room for personal space if you prefer.
More ⇩
Au Pair in the USA: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair USA: J1 visa requirements and application process

Read More »
Au Pair USA: requirements and regulations for participants

Read More »