Family ID: 1465093

Need Caregiver for elderly for:
Companionship and conversation, Cleaning & Laundry, Cooking meals

City: Barrie / Suburb | More ⇩

Name Jeff

State Ontario

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Aug 2020 - Dec 2021

Time of stay: 1-3 months

Last action: 17 Hours ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
4
Profile added to the favorite list of 4 candidates in the last 3 weeks
63
Profile Visited by 63 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
5%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hello-aloha. We are excited to have a new face in our family during this big, family change.

We are a 65 year old husband and wife and a 28 year old son, Canadian family. There are also two daughters in our family (39 and 30) who don't live with us, they both live in Toronto. The 30 year old daughter just had a baby and visits sometimes. The father had a brain injury (like a stroke) in January 2019 and has been in the hospital ever since. Within the next couple of months he will be returning home and continuing recovery through music therapy, exercise, and other types of activities that stimulate and challenge his brain. Since it's only the mother and son who will be responsible for the fathers care as he needs a lot of assistance (currently he's in a wheel chair and likely will be for a while), we could use some extra help with house work and an extra friend for the father.


Transportation:

There is a bus 2 minutes from our house which would take you downtown in 10 minutes. You can walk to the lake in 15-20 minutes from our house through a beautiful forest. There is a train that can take you to Toronto which is an hour drive / train ride from our house. We live 30 minutes from the longest, freshwater beach in the world (Wasaga Beach) which is a lovely place to visit in the summer. We have two vehicles and sure we could accommodate trips there. We live nearby a massive lake which has beaches and plenty of boating activities for rental.

Downtown includes Indian restaurants, plant-based restaurants, American restaurants, yoga studios, rock climbing walls. It also has a library that has tons of programs. One program is called ECC (English Conversation Circle) where people from all over the world who live in our town meet to practice English or just make new friends in the town.
More ⇩

Job Description

Looking for someone who can spend some time with our dad as his friend. Play music with him or board games. He likes to play guitar or use a hand drum. Take him on a stroll around the neighbourhood. Help him use the bathroom or shower when we are not around. Possibly making meals for the family if that was of interest to the au pair - that would help a lot.

Work requirements vary. We are looking for someone who can give us an extra hand with what is needed during our fathers transition from rehab to home and his continuing recovery.

When we take him out to appointments, some light house work (laundry, washing dishes) and to make sure the cats are fed. If you come in winter, keeping the driveway and path shovelled would help for easy entry for the father.
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes
Taking care of special needs children/people required - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Suburb

Parent's Age Group 55+

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality Canadian

Languages spoken at home English

Religion No Religion

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Retired

People living in the house 3

Children's/people's age and gender 65 Male

More ⇩

Job Requirements


Earliest Starting Date Aug 2020

Latest Starting Date Dec 2021

Duration of Stay 1-3 months

Looking for Caregiver for elderly

Children's/People's Age

Children/People to take care of 1

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in Companionship and conversation, Cleaning & Laundry, Cooking meals

Preferred Gender Female

Preferred Nationalities No Preferences

Required Language Skills Good

Required Education Level No preferences

Working Hours (per week) 15 - 20

Pocket Money (per month) 400 CAD

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? -

Required Age 18-40

Accepts Smokers Yes, not at home

Taking care of special needs children/people required Yes

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The Applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

You will have your own bedroom. We live in a pretty big house for the three of us. You can sleep in the basement with your own bathroom and have a lot of space for yourself or you can sleep upstairs in another bedroom and share the bathroom with the son. You can decide once your here if you'd like.

We have a bicycle you can use.

You can make your own meals with the food in our house.
More ⇩
Become an Au Pair in Canada: program information

Read More »
Au Pair in Canada: insurance and contract

Read More »
Become an Au Pair in Canada: the requirements and process

Read More »