Family ID: 1642874

Children: 1 Children, 15+ years old

City: Bedford / Village | More ⇩

Name Helen

State Bedfordshire

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Sep 2021 - Oct 2021

Time of stay: 10-12 months

Last action: 11 hours ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
6
Profile added to the favorite list of 6 candidates in the last 3 weeks
65
Profile Visited by 65 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
0%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hello!

I am so excited to be writing this letter and really looking forward to welcoming an Au Pair into our family home. Could you be the positive, energetic, kind, patient and compassionate person we are looking for?

We have 2 teenage boys aged 18 and 15. Our eldest son is off to university in September, so will only come home in the holidays, so we are seeking an au pair to help our kind & loving younger son with his studies.

We live in a lovely, friendly village in the countryside in Central Bedfordshire, approximately 5 miles from the County town of Bedford.

From Bedford there are great train links into London in under 40 minutes and we are only 40 minutes drive from the beautiful historic city of Cambridge.

We are looking for a very special, caring person to become part of our family and we will endeavour to teach you about British culture and help you improve your English skills.

Please do not hesitate to send me a message if you are eligible to work in the UK without a visa or you already have pre-settlement status and would like further information about this position and you feel you could be that special person we are looking for. I can't wait to hear from you.

Best regards,
Helen.
More ⇩

Job Description

Please note, we are looking for an au pair who already has pre-settlement status or is eligible to work in the UK without a visa.

The most important part of the role is to be a companion for our 15 year old son Josh and to help him with his studies. Josh suffers from ‘school anxiety’ which means he is unable to go to school; therefore he is studying for his GCSEs from home. GCSEs are the examinations that students take in the UK aged 16, so Josh will be taking them in May/Jun 2022. Consequently, we need an au pair that is willing to commit to stay with us until they have been completed.

James and I both work, so we need someone to keep Josh company during the day and to be present at home for his 1-1 lessons, which are conducted by professional teachers either face to face or on-line.
Your role will be to ensure Josh and is ready to start his lessons on time and to help organise his work and equipment, so that he has everything he needs for a productive lesson. If the lessons are on-line, you will need to ensure he is logged on and ready to learn at the set time. You will also need to help him plan his homework and motivate him to complete it on time.

To assist with the above, you must have a good basic education and you will have passed the exams in your own country at age 16. You will be computer literate and comfortable with emails, Microsoft Word and PowerPoint and scanning and printing documents, as you will need to scan completed work back to his teachers. You will also need to be able to drive, to take Josh to some professional tutoring sessions or other appointments outside of the home if necessary.

You must adore dogs and be confident handling big, strong dogs, as you will be responsible for walking Koda and Sammy during the week. We adore our dogs and they are very much part of our family, so you must be a real animal lover.

The remainder of your time will be spent undertaking household duties. These will include, cleaning, vacuuming and mopping the floor, filling & emptying the dishwasher, washing up, washing & drying clothes and linen, occasional ironing and any other duties upon request to help keep our busy household maintained and running smoothly.

Ideally you will also enjoy cooking and be happy to prepare the family meal most weekday evenings. However, if you cannot cook, don’t despair, as matching the other requirements is more important to us.

You must be kind, passionate and enthusiastic about learning and able to pass that passion on to a kind, intelligent teenager, who lacks confidence in his own abilities. You must be understanding of Josh’s anxieties and be patient and caring towards him. If you get satisfaction from helping others, then you could be that special person to make a huge difference on the smooth running of our busy family.
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Village

Parent's Age Group 40-55

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality British

Languages spoken at home English

Religion Christian

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Manager / Engineer

People living in the house 4

Children's/people's age and gender Boy - Age 15
Boy - Age 18 (away at university term time)

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 25 - 30

Salary / Pocket Money (per month) 400 GBP

Preferred Gender Female

Duration of Stay 10-12 months

Earliest Starting Date Sep 2021

Latest Starting Date Oct 2021

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 15+ years old

Children/People to take care of 1

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities Albanian, Andorran, Australian, Austrian, Belgian, British, Bulgarian, Canadian, Cape Verdean, Channel Islander, Chinese, Cypriots, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, Flemish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Icelandic, Irish, Italian, Luxembourgian, Maltese, Manx, New Zealander, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Scottish, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Swiss, Turkish, Welsh, Yugoslavian

Required Language Skills Good

Required Education Level Secondary school

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? Possibly. Depending on circumstances/experience

Required Age 18-35

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required Yes

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

We live in a large 5-bedroom house and you will have your own bedroom, complete with en-suite toilet, sink and shower. Your room is on the ground floor, away from the family bedrooms for added privacy for you and our family.

The house has super-fast wifi, with unlimited data and a hot tub in the garden which you can use outside of your working hours. In addition, we will insure you to drive one of the family cars, so that you have freedom to enjoy you free time.

We would love you to become part of our family and you are welcome to join us watching tv and relaxing in the evenings and join in with other family activities at weekends. However, equally we respect that your evenings and weekends are your precious time, to go off and explore the local area and meet with friends/family.
More ⇩
Au Pair in the UK - find Host Family today - AuPair.com

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: visa requirements for the participants

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: requirements and the process

Read More »