Family ID: 1993373

Children: 2 Children, 1 - 5 years old

City: Berlin / Big City | More ⇩

Name Manuela

State Berlin

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Jan 2021 - Jan 2022

Time of stay: 12-24 Months

Last action: 16 Dec 2021

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
1
Profile added to the favorite list of 1 candidates in the last 3 weeks
64
Profile Visited by 64 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
100%
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hello there, thanks for reading our letter! We’re a family of 4 living in Berlin (in the district of Grunewald if you’d like to check it out on Google Maps). We have moved in August having lived in London for over 10 years and now own a duplex flat with its own private garden in a period villa from 1910. We’ve renovated the flat and it’s now a really great place with lots of charm. Our two lovely girls, aged 3.5 and 1.5, live on the garden floor, where we also have a room for you and a spare bathroom and toilet (see photo) and we have our bedroom plus living rooms etc. upstairs.

Grunewald is a leafy suburb with lots of villas with spacious gardens, a mix of classicist buildings from before the war and newer houses. Our house is just a 7 min walk from the station and in 15-20 minutes you’re in the city center of Berlin. We also have a car (an automatic, hybrid SUV) that you could use to pick up the girls from the kindergarten/nursery. We haven’t yet checked language schools but given we’re close to the city center in Germany’s capital there will be plenty of options. We’re of course ready to pay for German language classes in addition to your direct income.
More ⇩

Job Description

As mentioned, both girls are in childcare during th day. So you would mainly have to pick them up in the afternoon (between 3-4pm) with our car and bring them back home, then play with them until we finish work around 6.30-7pm. The older one also has a sports class on Saturday morning now so occasionally we might need you to bring her there and pick her up (it’s a tennis club a 10 min walk from our home). We’re of course concerned there might be another lockdown in Germany with kindergartens closing and if that happened, we would need you to look after the kids also in the morning. But we do not intend to take our kids out of kindergarten/nursery if we have an au pair - we would only keep them home in the morning if we have to.

There’s no expectation for you to clean or cook (we have a cleaner each week and my husband loves cooking), but we would expect you to help us keep the rooms in good order when it comes to toys, the girls’ clothing etc. Basically tidying up after they have played (with them helping you, of course, as they need to learn to do that themselves!). We would also expect you to generally lend a helping hand, e.g., shop for groceries before picking up the girls in the afternoon from time to time. Nothing major, just helping us run things smoothly.

In terms of expectations: we would like you to make an effort to come up with creative ideas from time to time to keep things interesting for the girls and help them learn. For example, help the older one learn how to bike (in the garden or courtyard), help the younger one use the scooter, bake something together, do pretend play, etc. - rather than have them watch Peppa Pig all day long. Of course it’s fine to also have the girls watch something age appropriate from time to time or play a good baby app. But it should be for very limited periods of time. And of course it will be important for them to feel loved and valued and to have someone who really cares about making them feel comfortable.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

More ⇩

Family Information


Family has pets No

Family lives in Big City

Parent's Age Group 40-55

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality German

Languages spoken at home German, English

Religion No Religion

Importance of religion Not important

Employment CEO / Business owner

People living in the house 4

Children's/people's age and gender 2 Mädchen (geboren 2018, 2020)

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Swimming required - Yes
Riding a bike required - Yes
Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 35 - 40

Salary / Pocket Money (per month) 280 EUR

Preferred Gender Female

Duration of Stay 12-24 Months

Earliest Starting Date Jan 2021

Latest Starting Date Jan 2022

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities American - USA, Australian, British

Required Language Skills Sufficient

Required Education Level High school

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? Ja

Required Age 19-26

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required Yes

Riding a bike required Yes

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

We have 2 bedrooms and a bathroom plus toilet on the garden level and one of the bedrooms (around 10 sqm big, with 2 glass doors and nicely furnished) and would be yours. But we’re also looking for a studio in close walking proximity so that you could have your own place entirely. That would allow us to use the second bedroom as a playroom or as a guest bedroom if the grandparents come to visit. So I hope you’d be fine with having your own place after maybe 2-3 months (we want to make sure we have something nice and very close and that might take a bit of time). It would give you extra privacy as well and make it easier if you wanted to invite some new friends on the weekend, for example.

As mentioned, we have a private garden that we can use for playing and spending time outside in the summer. You would of course be welcome to use it as well on the weekend. Our flat overall is 200 sqm, so we have a good amount of space overall.
More ⇩
Au Pair in Germany - program information

Read More »
Visa regulations for the Au Pair program in Germany

Read More »
Au Pair in Germany: requirements for EU and Non-EU citizens

Read More »