Family ID: 1518859

Children: 3 Children, 6 - 10 years old

City: Birri de Barva / Countryside | More ⇩

Name Mandy

State

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Feb 2024 - May 2024

Time of stay: 10-18 Months

Last action: 10 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
1
Added as favorite 1 time in the last 3 weeks
59
Profile Visited by 59 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
91%
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Dear future Au Pair/new family member, we are a mixed Costa Rican/USA family, with 3 incredible boys aged 7, 8, and 10. We live in a beautiful rural paradise, in the mountains outside of the city. It takes about 30 minutes via car to get to downtown Heredia. We love nature and learning languages. We speak English and Spanish fluently, and I am a language teacher. Our German is pretty good, our Portuguese is fair, and we are very interested in improving these languages as well as in learning French. The boys are all in school during the day, and for the moment, my husband is working in the USA. We want you to have an incredible year, and are happy to help you find different activities that you can participate in such as dance classes, language courses, joining a local gym, cooking classes, volunteering, etc. Fridays are always family days and you can choose to participate with us or to do your own thing. We try to be as flexible and accommodating as possible. We also try to be the best people that we can be, but we are human. Sometimes we yell, cry, and show other signs of being 100% real human, non-perfect people. However, we always try to grow and learn from our mistakes, and improve ourselves. We look forward to giving you a loving, interesting, fun and multi-cultural experience and to learning lots from you.
There are many language courses in Heredia. We recommend Intercultura, and they allowed one of our previous German sisters to do a work/study type program there.
More ⇩

Job Description

We are looking for someone to help our kids learn languages through playing, story-telling, and fun activities. The kids are young, and we all speak English and Spanish fluently, and can communicate well in German, although we definitely want to keep practicing and improving. Our Portuguese is passable, and we are interested in learning French. The kids are little language sponges - they learn very easily through play, songs, games, reading, etc. I am also looking for someone who is willing to help out with all things related to the kids and household, such as helping get them ready for school, ready for bed, preparing their clothes for the next day, and performing basic household chores like cleaning up, doing dishes, laundry, etc. Being able to cook and prepare meals would be a huge bonus for us. We are a loving family, and will try to give our new sister a wonderful year, with varied cultural experiences and all the support needed. We provide a private bedroom with a private bathroom, food, internet, and we give support and assistance wherever possible. You must maintain your own private insurance coverage. We pay $250USD per month. It is important to note that the average salary in Costa Rica is only around $1000USD per month, so with room and board provided, that is plenty to live and travel and enjoy your time. We are happy to help you figure out different activities and experiences that you can participate in during your stay.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Countryside

Parent's Age Group 25-40

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality Costarican

Languages spoken at home English, German, Spanish

Religion No Religion

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Teacher / Electrician

People living in the house 5

Children's/people's age and gender 10 Year male
8 Year male
7 Year male

More ⇩

Job Requirements


Working Hours (per week) 35 - 40

Pocket Money of Au Pair (per month) 250 USD

Required Gender Female

Duration of Stay 10-18 Months

Earliest Starting Date Feb 2024

Latest Starting Date May 2024

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 6 - 10 years old

Children/People to take care of 3

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities Brazilian, Canadian, French, German, Portuguese, Swiss

Language Skills
 German, Minimum Beginner (A1)
- or -
 French, Minimum Beginner (A1)

Education Level No preferences

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? no

Required Age 18-70

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

You will have your own private bedroom with an attached private bathroom. There is internet. We will gladly help you learn/practice English and Spanish. We will provide all your meals and pay you $250USD per month. As a note, Costa Rican salaries are much lower than in other parts of the world such as Europe or the US, and people generally earn on average around $750 to $1100 USD per month while working at least 48 hours per week, so travel and eating out at traditional restaurants called sodas, is actually quite "cheap" here compared to other countries. Therefore, with accommodations and food taken care of, $250 is plenty of money to live and travel. Our previous German sisters (AuPairs) were able to travel, do fun activities, take classes, do exchanges, teach, volunteer, go out to restaurants, and many other enriching experiences. We are happy to help you find fulfilling activities to do with your spare time, such as language courses, volunteering, dance classes, cooking classes, gym time, travel opportunities, etc., depending on your interests.
More ⇩